AC Milan 3-2 Inter: Rossoneri hold on to beat rivals Nerazzurri

AC Milan vs Inter
Photo Credit: AP

Internazionale on away loss to Milan at the Stadio Giuseppe Meazza on Saturday. Milan arrived with the intention of improving their league position following a disappointing 0-0 draw with Sassuolo in their previous game. Inter were looking to extend their winning run after a 3-1 victory against Cremonese. Milan and Inter currently occupy 1st and 5th spots in the league, with 11 points and 9 points respectively after 5 matches.

It was an impressive opening from Inter, when Marcelo Brozovic found the net, 21 minutes in. However, their celebrations were kept brief, as Rafael Leao equalised for Milan in the 28th minute, finishing the first half 1-1.

Milan started strong in the second half and were able to dominate, when Olivier Giroud found the net on the 54 minute mark. Rossoneri looked to have the match under control when they scored again to grab the advantage, thanks to a 2nd effort from Rafael Leao, 60 minutes in to establish a 3-1. Nerazzurri in turn, then responded, at 67 minutes, grabbing the lead with an effort from Edin Dzeko. The match ended with a 3-2 win for Milan.

Substitutions for Milan included Brahim Diaz, Divock Origi, Alexis Saelemaekers, Tommaso Pobega and Simon Kjaer for Charles De Ketelaere, Olivier Giroud, Junior Messias, Sandro Tonali and Davide Calabria, respectively. Inter brought on Henrikh Mkhitaryan, Federico Dimarco, Edin Dzeko, Robin Gosens and Danilo D`Ambrosio for Nicolo Barella, Alessandro Bastoni, Joaquin Correa, Matteo Darmian and Stefan De Vrij.

There were bookings for Theo Hernandez, Olivier Giroud, Charles De Ketelaere, Sandro Tonali and Rafael Leao from Milan, and Denzel Dumfries and Marcelo Brozovic, for Inter.

Milan will next play Sampdoria away, with Inter facing Torino at home.

Technical card:
AC Milan:Mike Maignan, Davide Calabria (Simon Kjaer, min.84), Fikayo Tomori, Pierre Kalulu, Theo Hernandez, Junior Messias (Alexis Saelemaekers, min.73), Charles De Ketelaere (Brahim Diaz, min.63), Ismael Bennacer, Sandro Tonali (Tommaso Pobega, min.84), Rafael Leao and Olivier Giroud (Divock Origi, min.73)
Internazionale:Samir Handanovic, Alessandro Bastoni (Federico Dimarco, min.64), Stefan De Vrij (Danilo D`Ambrosio, min.84), Milan Skriniar, Denzel Dumfries, Hakan Calhanoglu, Marcelo Brozovic, Nicolo Barella (Henrikh Mkhitaryan, min.63), Matteo Darmian (Robin Gosens, min.84), Lautaro Martinez and Joaquin Correa (Edin Dzeko, min.64)
Stadium:the Stadio Giuseppe Meazza
Goals:Marcelo Brozovic (0-1, min. 21), Rafael Leao (1-1, min. 28), Olivier Giroud (2-1, min. 54), Rafael Leao (3-1, min. 60) and Edin Dzeko (3-2, min. 67)