Milan 4 – ASS 1: Home advantage seals victory for Rossoneri

Photo Credit: AP

AC Milan cruises against AC Monza on a home win at the Stadio Giuseppe Meazza on Saturday. Milan were looking to pick up points after winning their previous two matches in the competition. The most recent was against the Hellas Verona away (2-1), the other to Juventus at home (2-0) whilst ASS were beaten 1-0 in their previous match against Empoli. Milan are now in 2nd place, with 26 points from 11 matches, while ASS sit in 14th, with 10 points from 11.

Rossoneri didn’t take long to get on the score-sheet, when Brahim Diaz opened the rout after 16 minutes. They then scored again, pulling level thanks to a second effort from Brahim Diaz just before half-time. The first half ended 2-0.

Milan continued to pile on the pressure in the second half and were rewarded, with a goal from Divock Origi on the 65 minute mark. However, ASS refused to lie down and managed to pull back a goal from Filippo Ranocchia on the 70 minute mark. In the end though, Milan then grabbed a goal from Rafael Leao, at 84 minutes, seing the match finish 4-1.

Substitutions for Milan included Pierre Kalulu, Charles De Ketelaere, Rafael Leao, Matteo Gabbia and Aster Vranckx for Sergino Dest, Brahim Diaz, Ante Rebic, Simon Kjaer and Divock Origi, respectively. ASS replaced Filippo Ranocchia, Andrea Carboni, Andrea Petagna, Chris Gytkjaer and Warren Bondo with Andrea Barberis, Luca Caldirola, Dany Mota, Gianluca Caprari and Stefano Sensi.

There were bookings for Divock Origi from Milan. For ASS, Warren Bondo saw yellow.

Milan will next play Torino away, with ASS facing Bologna at home.

Technical card:
AC Milan:Ciprian Tatarusanu, Sergino Dest (Pierre Kalulu, min.46), Simon Kjaer (Matteo Gabbia, min.61), Fikayo Tomori, Theo Hernandez, Junior Messias, Ismael Bennacer, Tommaso Pobega, Brahim Diaz (Charles De Ketelaere, min.53), Ante Rebic (Rafael Leao, min.60) and Divock Origi (Aster Vranckx, min.78)
AC Monza:Michele Di Gregorio, Pablo Mari, Luca Caldirola (Andrea Carboni, min.54), Valentin Antov, Patrick Ciurria, Stefano Sensi (Warren Bondo, min.67), Andrea Barberis (Filippo Ranocchia, min.46), Carlos Augusto, Matteo Pessina, Dany Mota (Andrea Petagna, min.55) and Gianluca Caprari (Chris Gytkjaer, min.66)
Stadium:the Stadio Giuseppe Meazza
Goals:Brahim Diaz (1-0, min. 16), Brahim Diaz (2-0, min. 41), Divock Origi (3-0, min. 65), Filippo Ranocchia (3-1, min. 70) and Rafael Leao (4-1, min. 84)