Sporting 0-2 Marseille: Ligue 1 side triumphs in Portugal

Photo Credit: AP

Olympique de Marseille eased past Sporting CP in a 2-0 victory on Wednesday at Jose Alvalade. Sporting were hoping to get something from this game after losing their last match 4-1 to Olympique de Marseille. Marseille were able to continue their winning streak after a 4-1 win against Sporting CP in their last match. both teams are now on 6 points and sit in 3rd and 2nd places respectively after 4 matches.

The Phocaeans dominated the first half, when Matteo Guendouzi found the net, 20 minutes in. Marseille then netted once more and increased their lead thanks to a goal from Alexis Sanchez in the 30th minute to secure a 2-0 win. The second 45 minutes ended with little further action at either end and goalless.

Substitutions for Sporting included Issahaku Abdul Fatawu, Jose Martinez, Sotirios Alexandropoulos, Flavio Nazinho and Pedro Porro for Hidemasa Morita, Sebastian Coates, Marcus Edwards, Trincao and Nuno Santos, respectively. Marseille brought on Issa Kabore, Cengiz Under, Samuel Gigot, Dimitri Payet and Pape Alassane Gueye, to replace Jonathan Clauss, Matteo Guendouzi, Eric Bailly, Amine Harit and Jordan Veretout.

The referee booked eight players. Ricardo Esgaio, Manuel Ugarte, Pedro Goncalves and Pedro Porro from Sporting, who saw yellow cards and Ricardo Esgaio (2 yellow cards) and Pedro Goncalves (2 yellow cards), sent off with a red, as well as for Marseille Matteo Guendouzi and Eric Bailly received yellows.

Next up, Sporting are away to Tottenham Hotspur, whilst Marseille will travel to face Eintracht Frankfurt.

Technical card:
Sporting CP:Franco Israel, Goncalo Inacio, Matheus Reis, Sebastian Coates (Jose Martinez, min.35), Ricardo Esgaio, Hidemasa Morita (Issahaku Abdul Fatawu, min.22), Manuel Ugarte, Nuno Santos (Pedro Porro, min.59), Marcus Edwards (Sotirios Alexandropoulos, min.35), Trincao (Flavio Nazinho, min.46) and Pedro Goncalves
Olympique de Marseille:Pau Lopez, Chancel Mbemba, Eric Bailly (Samuel Gigot, min.64), Leonardo Balerdi, Jonathan Clauss (Issa Kabore, min.64), Jordan Veretout (Pape Alassane Gueye, min.87), Valentin Rongier, Nuno Tavares, Alexis Sanchez, Matteo Guendouzi (Cengiz Under, min.64) and Amine Harit (Dimitri Payet, min.72)
Stadium:Jose Alvalade
Goals:Matteo Guendouzi (0-1, min. 20) and Alexis Sanchez (0-2, min. 30)