San Lorenzo 1-0 Vélez: Host claim another home win

Photo Credit: AP

Vélez Sarsfield on away loss to San Lorenzo at Estadio Pedro Bidegain on Saturday. San Lorenzo arrived with the intention of improving their league position after a scoreless draw against Godoy Cruz in their previous match while Vélez had been hopeful of extending their winning run, after a 1-0 victory against Banfield. San Lorenzo are now in 9th place on the table and have 34 points while Vélez sit in 27th with 19 points after 24 matches.

After an uneventful first half, San Lorenzo applied pressure in the second and were rewarded, thanks to a goal from Nestor Ortigoza just before the full time, seing the match finish 1-0.

Substitutions for San Lorenzo included Agustin Martegani, Andres Vombergar, Ivan Leguizamon and Nestor Ortigoza for Nahuel Barrios, Ezequiel Cerutti, Adam Bareiro and Ignacio Mendez, respectively. Vélez brought on Luca Orellano, Lucas Pratto, Santiago Castro and Miguel Brizuela, to replace Julian Fernandez, Walter Bou, Abiel Osorio and Lucas Janson.

The referee booked Cristian Zapata, Agustin Giay and Jalil Elias from San Lorenzo. Vélez had the worst of it though, with Diego Valentin Gomez, Matias De los Santos and Mateo Seoane seeing yellow, and Diego Valentin Gomez (2 yellow cards) then sent off with a red.

San Lorenzo will next play Gimnasia La Plata away, with Vélez facing Talleres Córdoba at home.

Technical card:
San Lorenzo:Augusto Batalla, Cristian Zapata, Federico Gattoni, Gaston Hernandez, Agustin Giay, Jalil Elias, Ignacio Mendez (Nestor Ortigoza, min.90), Malcom Braida, Ezequiel Cerutti (Andres Vombergar, min.72), Adam Bareiro (Ivan Leguizamon, min.72) and Nahuel Barrios (Agustin Martegani, min.64)
Vélez Sarsfield:Leonardo Burian, Leonardo Jara, Diego Valentin Gomez, Matias De los Santos, Emanuel Insua, Julian Fernandez (Luca Orellano, min.72), Walter Bou (Lucas Pratto, min.72), Nicolas Garayalde, Mateo Seoane, Lucas Janson (Miguel Brizuela, min.88) and Abiel Osorio (Santiago Castro, min.81)
Stadium:Estadio Pedro Bidegain
Goals:Nestor Ortigoza (1-0, min. 90)