Napoli 4-2 Ajax: Gli Azzurri book qualification with strong win

Photo Credit: AP

Napoli eased past Ajax in a 4-2 victory on Wednesday at Stadio Diego Armando Maradona. Napoli were looking to pick up points after winning their previous two games against Ajax away and Rangers away, by 6-1 and 3-0 respectively. Ajax had lost their previous match against Napoli. Napoli are now in 1st place on the table and have 12 points while Ajax sit in 3rd with 3 points after 4 matches.

Napoli started the first half well, with an early goal from Hirving Lozano in the 4th minute. They then scored again, pulling level thanks to a goal from Giacomo Raspadori on the 16 minute mark. The first half ended 2-0.

Ajax staged a comeback in the second half, with an early goal from Davy Klaassen in the 49th minute. However, Gli Azzurri increased their lead 3-1 thanks to a goal from Khvicha Kvaratskhelia on the 62 minute mark. However, Ajax refused to lie down and managed to pull back a goal from Steven Bergwijn in the 83rd minute. In the end though, Napoli increased their advantage with a Victor Osimhen goal just before the full time so at full time it was 4-2 to Napoli.

Substitutions for Napoli included Tanguy Ndombele, Victor Osimhen, Matteo Politano, Eljif Elmas and Gianluca Gaetano for Andre Zambo Anguissa, Giacomo Raspadori, Hirving Lozano, Khvicha Kvaratskhelia and Piotr Zielinski, respectively. Ajax brought on Florian Grillitsch, Brian Brobbey, Youri Baas, Lucas Ocampos and Chico Conceicao, to replace Kenneth Taylor, Mohammed Kudus, Jorge Sanchez, Steven Bergwijn and Steven Berghuis.

There were bookings for Juan Jesus, Victor Osimhen and Matteo Politano from Napoli. For Ajax, Kenneth Taylor, Jorge Sanchez, Edson Alvarez, Jurrien Timber, Calvin Ughelumba and Steven Bergwijn saw yellow.

Napoli next face Rangers while Ajax are at home to Liverpool.

Technical card:
Napoli:Alex Meret, Giovanni Di Lorenzo, Min-jae Kim, Juan Jesus, Mathias Olivera, Andre Zambo Anguissa (Tanguy Ndombele, min.49), Stanislav Lobotka, Piotr Zielinski (Gianluca Gaetano, min.89), Hirving Lozano (Matteo Politano, min.77), Giacomo Raspadori (Victor Osimhen, min.50) and Khvicha Kvaratskhelia (Eljif Elmas, min.77)
Ajax:Remko Pasveer, Jorge Sanchez (Youri Baas, min.65), Jurrien Timber, Daley Blind, Calvin Ughelumba, Kenneth Taylor (Florian Grillitsch, min.65), Edson Alvarez, Davy Klaassen, Steven Bergwijn (Lucas Ocampos, min.84), Mohammed Kudus (Brian Brobbey, min.65) and Steven Berghuis (Chico Conceicao, min.84)
Stadium:Stadio Diego Armando Maradona
Goals:Hirving Lozano (1-0, min. 4), Giacomo Raspadori (2-0, min. 16), Davy Klaassen (2-1, min. 49), Khvicha Kvaratskhelia (3-1, min. 62), Steven Bergwijn (3-2, min. 83) and Victor Osimhen (4-2, min. 89)