Nantes 2-2 Ajaccio: Visitors unable to make up ground on Nantes

Photo Credit: AP

On Sunday, Nantes and Ajaccio played out a 2-2 draw at the Stade de la Beaujoire. Nantes were looking forward to playing again after losing 1-0 to Reims in their previous fixture whilst Ajaccio were looking to extend their winning run after a 4-2 victory against RC Strasburg. Nantes and Ajaccio currently occupy 15th and 18th spots in the table, with 13 points and 12 points respectively after 15 matches.

After an uneventful first half, Ajaccio fought back the second half, when Youcef Belaili found the net in the 57th minute. L’ours looked to have the match under control when they scored again and increased their lead, thanks to a goal from Romain Hamouma, 66 minutes in to establish a 2-0. However, Nantes refused to lie down and managed to pull back a goal from Ludovic Blas in the 70th minute. They then scored again, pulling level thanks to a goal from Moses Simon just before the full time to give a final score of 2-2.

Substitutions for Nantes included Ignatius Kpene Ganago, Dennis Appiah, Samuel Moutoussamy and Abdoul Kader Bamba for Evann Guessand, Sebastien Corchia, Quentin Merlin and Pedro Chirivella, respectively. Ajaccio brought on Cyrille Bayala, Bevic Moussiti-Oko, Thomas Mangani, Qazim Laci and Mickael Alphonse, to replace Youcef Belaili, Romain Hamouma, Mounaim El Idrissy, Mathieu Coutadeur and Riad Nouri.

There were bookings for Ludovic Blas, Jean-Charles Castelletto and Andrei from Nantes. For Ajaccio, Youssouf Kone, Riad Nouri and Oumar Gonzalez saw yellow.

Nantes will next play Troyes away, with Ajaccio facing Angers SCO at home.

Technical card:
Nantes:Alban Lafont, Sebastien Corchia (Dennis Appiah, min.82), Jean-Charles Castelletto, Andrei, Quentin Merlin (Samuel Moutoussamy, min.82), Evann Guessand (Ignatius Kpene Ganago, min.59), Pedro Chirivella (Abdoul Kader Bamba, min.88), Ludovic Blas, Moussa Sissoko, Moses Simon and Mostafa Mohamed
AC Ajaccio:Benjamin Leroy, Mohamed Youssouf, Oumar Gonzalez, Ismael Diallo, Youssouf Kone, Riad Nouri (Mickael Alphonse, min.89), Mathieu Coutadeur (Qazim Laci, min.89), Vincent Marchetti, Youcef Belaili (Cyrille Bayala, min.72), Mounaim El Idrissy (Thomas Mangani, min.81) and Romain Hamouma (Bevic Moussiti-Oko, min.72)
Stadium:the Stade de la Beaujoire
Goals:Youcef Belaili (0-1, min. 57), Romain Hamouma (0-2, min. 66), Ludovic Blas (1-2, min. 70) and Moses Simon (2-2, min. 89)