Montpellier 1-1 Reims: Stalemate as Montpellier’s winless streak continues

Photo Credit: AP

Montpellier were helde ach other to a 1-1 draw by Reims on Sunday at the Stade de la Mosson. Montpellier arrived with the intention of improving their league position following a disappointing 1-1 draw with Clermont Foot in their previous game. Reims, meanwhile, were looking to extend their winning run after a 1-0 victory against Nantes. Montpellier are now in 14th place on the table and have 14 points while Reims sit in 11th with 17 points after 15 matches.

After a goalless first half, Reims fought back the second half, when Marshall Munetsi gave them the lead, at 87 minutes. In the end though, their celebrations were kept brief, as Sacha Delaye equalised for Montpellier just before the final whistle, leaving the final score at 1-1.

Substitutions for Montpellier included Arnaud Nordin, Faitout Maouassa, Valere Germain, Khalil Fayad and Sacha Delaye for Teji Savanier, Arnaud Souquet, Stephy Mavididi, Leo Leroy and Maxime Esteve, respectively. Reims brought on Marshall Munetsi, Folarin Balogun, Mitchell Van Bergen, Thomas Foket and Bradley Locko for Kamory Doumbia, Noah Jean Holm, Arber Zeneli, Ibrahim Diakite and Thibault De Smet.

There were bookings for Arnaud Souquet and Leo Leroy from Montpellier. For Reims, Yehvann Diouf and Jens-Lys Cajuste saw yellow.

Montpellier will next travel to FC Lorient, while Reims will face Rennes at home.

Technical card:
Montpellier:Jonas Omlin, Arnaud Souquet (Faitout Maouassa, min.66), Nicolas Cozza, Falaye Sacko, Christopher Jullien, Maxime Esteve (Sacha Delaye, min.89), Leo Leroy (Khalil Fayad, min.89), Teji Savanier (Arnaud Nordin, min.65), Jordan Ferri, Stephy Mavididi (Valere Germain, min.77) and Sepe Elye Wahi
Reims:Yehvann Diouf, Ibrahim Diakite (Thomas Foket, min.78), Emmanuel Agbadou, Yunis Abdelhamid, Thibault De Smet (Bradley Locko, min.83), Junya Ito, Kamory Doumbia (Marshall Munetsi, min.58), Jens-Lys Cajuste, Azor Matusiwa, Arber Zeneli (Mitchell Van Bergen, min.77) and Noah Jean Holm (Folarin Balogun, min.58)
Stadium:the Stade de la Mosson
Goals:Marshall Munetsi (0-1, min. 87) and Sacha Delaye (1-1, min. 90)