Corinthians 2-1 Paranaense: Home fans rewarded with victory

Photo Credit: AP

Corinthians’ 2-1 win over Athletico Paranaense on Sunday, was hard fought at Neo Quimica Arena. With both teams drawing in their previous fixtures, they were each keen to pick up points. Corinthians were looking for a victory following a disappointing 2-2 draw with Juventude in their previous game. Paranaense were struggling for form following a draw in their last match. Corinthians and Paranaense are 5th, (51 points) and 6th, (48 points), in the table respectively, after 31 matches.

Corinthians started the match strongly, when Fabian Balbuena gave them the lead early in the first half. However they weren’t finished yet and Roger Guedes made it 2-0, 22 minutes in to secure a 2-0 win.

Paranaense took the lead in the second half, when Erick found the net, at 81 minutes. When the final whistle blew, the result was 2-1 to Corinthians.

Substitutions for Corinthians included Yuri Alberto, Rafael Ramos, Gustavo Da Silva, Du Queiroz and Maycon for Roger Guedes, Fagner, Adson, Ramiro and Giuliano, respectively. Paranaense brought on Alex Santana, Tomas Cuello, Pablo Felipe, Khellven and Matheus Felipe, to replace Hugo Moura, Abner, Vitor Roque, Luis Orejuela and Pedro Henrique.

The referee booked Ramiro for Corinthians.

Corinthians will next travel to Goiás EC, while Paranaense will face Coritiba at home.

Technical card:
Corinthians:Carlos Miguel, Fagner (Rafael Ramos, min.60), Fabian Balbuena, Robert Renan Alves Barbosa, Lucas Piton Crivellaro, Adson (Gustavo Da Silva, min.60), Ramiro (Du Queiroz, min.71), Fausto Vera, Mateus Vital, Giuliano (Maycon, min.79) and Roger Guedes (Yuri Alberto, min.47)
Athletico Paranaense:Bento, Luis Orejuela (Khellven, min.64), Nicolas Hernandez, Pedro Henrique (Matheus Felipe, min.73), Abner (Tomas Cuello, min.47), Agustin Canobbio, Erick, Hugo Moura (Alex Santana, min.47), David Terans, Vitinho and Vitor Roque (Pablo Felipe, min.47)
Stadium:Neo Quimica Arena
Goals:Fabian Balbuena (1-0, min. 6), Roger Guedes (2-0, min. 22) and Erick (2-1, min. 81)