Santos 1 – Internacional 1: Honours even and points shared at Urbano Caldeira

Photo Credit: AP

On Thursday, Santos and Internacional were held to a 1-1 draw at Urbano Caldeira. Both Santos and Internacional arrived at the challenge after previous wins. Santos were looking to pick up points, following a 2-1 victory against Juventude. Internacional were coming off the back of a 3-1 win against Flamengo. After today’s result, Santos are in 6th place, with 17 points from 10 matches, while Internacional sit in 4th, with 18 points from 10.

After an uneventful first half, Santos took the initiative in the second half, thanks to a goal from Lucas Braga at the 63 minute mark. In the end though, their celebrations were kept brief, as Bruno Mendez equalised for Internacional, 71 minutes in. The final result, Santos 1, Internacional 1.

Substitutions for Santos included Lucas Henrique Barbosa, Rwan, Bruno Felipe De Oliveira, Sandry and Gabriel Cordeiro Pirani for Brayan Angulo, Ricardo Goulart, Leo Baptistao, Vinicius Zanocelo and Lucas Braga, repectively. Internacional brought on Bruno Mendez, Alemao, Taison, Mauricio and Rodrigo Dourado, to replace Fabricio Bustos, David, Alan Patrick, Edenilson and Pedro Henrique.

There were bookings for Madson and Rodrigo Fernandez from Santos, and Edenilson, for Internacional.

Santos will next play Red Bull Bragantino at home, with Internacional facing Goiás EC away.

Technical card:
Santos FC:Joao Paulo, Madson, Maicon, Eduardo Bauermann, Lucas Pires, Vinicius Zanocelo (Sandry, min.79), Ricardo Goulart (Rwan, min.58), Rodrigo Fernandez, Brayan Angulo (Lucas Henrique Barbosa, min.58), Lucas Braga (Gabriel Cordeiro Pirani, min.79) and Leo Baptistao (Bruno Felipe De Oliveira, min.60)
Internacional:Daniel, Fabricio Bustos (Bruno Mendez, min.56), Vitao, Gabriel Mercado, Rene, Edenilson (Mauricio, min.65), Gabriel, Carlos De Pena, Pedro Henrique (Rodrigo Dourado, min.72), Alan Patrick (Taison, min.65) and David (Alemao, min.56)
Stadium:Urbano Caldeira
Goals:Lucas Braga (1-0, min. 63) and Bruno Mendez (1-1, min. 71)