Santos 1-0 Goianense: Santos ends winless streak with victory at the Urbano Caldeira

Photo Credit: AP

Santos FC defeated Atlético Goianense 1-0 on Monday at Urbano Caldeira. With each team arriving on the back of a league defeat, they were both keen to pick up points. Santos were hoping to get something from this game, following a previous defeat to Flamengo. Goianense, on the other hand, were beaten 2-1 in the previous match against São Paulo. As things stand, Santos and Goianense are 8th, (22 points) and 17th, (17 points), in the table respectively, after 16 matches.

After a goalless first half, Santos applied pressure in the second and were rewarded, with a goal from Lucas Henrique Barbosa, 76 minutes in, sealing a 1-0 victory for the away side.

Substitutions for Santos included Guilherme Camacho, Lucas Henrique Barbosa, Bruno Felipe De Oliveira and Vinicius Lourenco for Vinicius Zanocelo, Leo Baptistao, Carlos Sanchez and Rodrigo Fernandez, repectively. Goianense brought on Luiz Fernando, Lucas Eduardo Lima da Silva, Rickson, Leo Pereira and Arthur Henry, to replace Shaylon, Edson, Gabriel Baralha, Jorginho and Jefferson.

There were bookings for Vinicius Zanocelo, Carlos Sanchez, Rodrigo Fernandez, Guilherme Camacho and Lucas Henrique Barbosa from Santos, and Shaylon, Luiz Fernando, Ronaldo and Hayner, for Goianense.

Santos will next travel to Avai, while Goianense will face Fortaleza EC at home.

Technical card:
Santos FC:Joao Paulo, Madson, Maicon, Eduardo Bauermann, Felipe Jonatan, Carlos Sanchez (Bruno Felipe De Oliveira, min.62), Leo Baptistao (Lucas Henrique Barbosa, min.62), Vinicius Zanocelo (Guilherme Camacho, min.46), Rodrigo Fernandez (Vinicius Lourenco, min.89), Marcos Leonardo and Lucas Braga
Atlético Goianense:Ronaldo, Hayner, Ramon, Wanderson, Jefferson (Arthur Henry, min.87), Airton, Jorginho (Leo Pereira, min.86), Edson (Lucas Eduardo Lima da Silva, min.75), Gabriel Baralha (Rickson, min.86), Shaylon (Luiz Fernando, min.46) and Diego Churín
Stadium:Urbano Caldeira
Goals:Lucas Henrique Barbosa (1-0, min. 76)