Fortaleza 3-2 Flamengo: Visitors slip up at Estadio Castelao

Photo Credit: AP

Fortaleza EC banked all three points against the Flamengo in a 3-2 victory on Thursday, at Estadio Castelao. Fortaleza were on the hunt for more points after a 1-1 draw against Juventude, while Flamengo were beaten 2-1 in their previous match against Fluminense. Fortaleza and Flamengo currently occupy 12th and 5th spots in the league, with 34 points and 45 points respectively after 28 matches.

Fortaleza started the first half well, when Pedro Rocha found the net in the 18th minute. However, their lead was short-lived, as an equalizer from Gabriel Barbosa on the 32 minute mark, brought Flamengo level. Flamengo then scored once more and turned the match thanks to a penalty 2nd effort from Gabriel Barbosa just before half-time, finishing the first half 2-1.

Fortaleza started strong in the second half and were able to dominate, when Pedro Rocha found the net once more, 52 minutes in. However they weren’t finished yet and Caio Alexandre made it 3-2 just before the final whistle to give a final score of 3-2.

Substitutions for Fortaleza included Moises Vieira da Veiga, Valentin Depietri, Romulo Otero, Lucas Sasha and Silvio Romero for Ronald, Pedro Rocha, Lucas Crispim, Hercules Pereira Do Nascimento and Thiago Galhardo, respectively. Flamengo replaced Ayrton Lucas, Matheuzinho, Petterson Novaes Reis, Diego and Pedro Arthur with Filipe Luis, Rodinei, Mateusao, Victor Hugo Gomes Silva and Matheus Franca.

There were bookings for Pedro Rocha and Lucas Crispim from Fortaleza. For Flamengo, Leo Pereira, Thiago Maia, Joao Gomes, Matheuzinho and Diego saw yellow.

Fortaleza will next play Goiás EC away, with Flamengo facing Red Bull Bragantino at home.

Technical card:
Fortaleza EC:Fernando Miguel, Tinga, Emanuel Britez, Marcelo Benevenuto, Juninho Capixaba, Caio Alexandre, Ronald (Moises Vieira da Veiga, min.46), Hercules Pereira Do Nascimento (Lucas Sasha, min.82), Lucas Crispim (Romulo Otero, min.81), Pedro Rocha (Valentin Depietri, min.70) and Thiago Galhardo (Silvio Romero, min.89)
Flamengo:Santos, Rodinei (Matheuzinho, min.63), David Luiz, Leo Pereira, Filipe Luis (Ayrton Lucas, min.46), Joao Gomes, Thiago Maia, Matheus Franca (Pedro Arthur, min.82), Victor Hugo Gomes Silva (Diego, min.82), Mateusao (Petterson Novaes Reis, min.70) and Gabriel Barbosa
Stadium:Estadio Castelao
Goals:Pedro Rocha (1-0, min. 18), Gabriel Barbosa (1-1, min. 32), Gabriel Barbosa (1-2, min. 45), Pedro Rocha (2-2, min. 52) and Caio Alexandre (3-2, min. 90)