Fortaleza 1-3 Botafogo: Fire snap Fortaleza’s long winning streak

Photo Credit: AP

Botafogo strolled past Fortaleza EC with a 3-1 win on Sunday at Estadio Castelao. Fortaleza were keen to hang onto their position at the top of the table and extend their winning run after winning their previous two matches in the league. The most recent was against the São Paulo away (1-0), the other to Corinthians at home (1-0) whilst Botafogo were beaten 1-0 in their previous match against Flamengo. Fortaleza and Botafogo are 12th, (30 points) and 15th, (27 points), spots respectively, after 25 matches.

It was an impressive opening from Botafogo, when Carlos Eduardo found the net, at 19 minutes. However they weren’t finished yet and Carlos Eduardo made it 2-0, 36 minutes in, to take a 2-0 lead into half time.

Botafogo continued to apply pressure in the second period and were rewarded, with a goal from Fernando Marcal in the 64th minute. In the end though, Fortaleza pull-back following a Moises Vieira da Veiga goal, at 70 minutes. The match ended with a 3-1 victory for the visitors.

Substitutions for Fortaleza included Hercules Pereira Do Nascimento, Pedro Rocha, Silvio Romero, Romulo Otero and Lucas Lima for Jose Welison, Romarinho, Robson, Titi and Lucas Sasha, respectively. Botafogo brought on Lucas Mezenga, Gabriel Appelt, Junior Santos, Lucas Piazon and Kanu, to replace Rafael, Carlos Eduardo, Soares, Joao Victor and Jefferson Ruan Pereira dos Santos.

There were bookings for Juninho Capixaba from Fortaleza, and Fernando Marcal and Carlos Eduardo, for Botafogo.

Fortaleza will play their next fixture away against Fluminense, while Botafogo will face America Mineiro at home.

Technical card:
Fortaleza EC:Fernando Miguel, Emanuel Britez, Marcelo Benevenuto, Titi (Romulo Otero, min.67), Juninho Capixaba, Romarinho (Pedro Rocha, min.46), Jose Welison (Hercules Pereira Do Nascimento, min.46), Lucas Sasha (Lucas Lima, min.78), Thiago Galhardo, Moises Vieira da Veiga and Robson (Silvio Romero, min.67)
Botafogo:Roberto Fernandez, Rafael (Lucas Mezenga, min.18), Adryelson, Victor Cuesta, Fernando Marcal, Joao Victor (Lucas Piazon, min.78), Carlos Eduardo (Gabriel Appelt, min.69), Tche Tche, Lucas Fernandes, Jefferson Ruan Pereira dos Santos (Kanu, min.78) and Soares (Junior Santos, min.77)
Stadium:Estadio Castelao
Goals:Carlos Eduardo (0-1, min. 19), Carlos Eduardo (0-2, min. 36), Fernando Marcal (0-3, min. 64) and Moises Vieira da Veiga (1-3, min. 70)