Flamengo 5-0 Paranaense: Scarlet-Black put on a five-star show at Maracana

Photo Credit: AP

Flamengo cruises against Athletico Paranaense on a home win at Maracana on Sunday. Both sides arrived at the challenge after previous wins. Flamengo were looking to pick up points after winning their previous two matches in the league. The most recent was against the São Paulo away (2-0), the other to Atlético Goianense at home (4-1) whilst Paranaense were coming from consecutive wins against Atl. Mineiro and São Paulo. As it stands, Flamengo and Paranaense are 2nd, (39 points) and 5th, (37 points), in the league respectively, after 22 matches.

After an uneventful first half, Flamengo piled on the pressure in the second and were rewarded, when Fabricio Bruno gave Flamengo the lead in the 56th minute. Flamengo looked to have the match under control when they scored again and increased their lead, thanks to a second effort from Fabricio Bruno in the 59th minute to establish a 2-0. The momentum was now with Flamengo, who then scored again through a goal from Ayrton Lucas at the 63 minute mark to establish a 3-0. The momentum was now with Flamengo, who then scored again through a goal from Lazaro at the 71 minute mark to establish a 4-0. Flamengo then netted once more and increased their advantage thanks to a goal from Pedro just before the final whistle to make it 5-0.

Substitutions for Flamengo included Arturo Vidal, Vitinho, Giorgian De Arrascaeta, Pedro and Gabriel Barbosa for Victor Hugo Gomes Silva, Lazaro, Diego, Everton and Marinho, repectively. Paranaense replaced Vitor Bueno, Alex Santana, Romulo and Pedrinho for Leo Cittadini, Matheus Fernandes, Agustin Canobbio and Abner.

There were bookings for Pablo Castro, Hugo Souza and Thiago Maia from Flamengo, and Vitor Roque and Alex Santana, for Paranaense.

Flamengo will next travel to Palmeiras, while Paranaense will face America Mineiro at home.

Technical card:
Flamengo:Santos, Matheuzinho, Pablo Castro, Fabricio Bruno, Ayrton Lucas, Victor Hugo Gomes Silva (Arturo Vidal, min.76), Diego (Giorgian De Arrascaeta, min.83), Thiago Maia, Marinho (Gabriel Barbosa, min.84), Lazaro (Vitinho, min.76), Everton (Pedro, min.84) and Hugo Souza
Athletico Paranaense:Anderson Silva, Luis Orejuela, Matheus Felipe, Nicolas Hernandez, Pedrinho (Abner, min.87), Romulo (Agustin Canobbio, min.71), Vitor Bueno (Leo Cittadini, min.61), Erick, Alex Santana (Matheus Fernandes, min.71), Vitinho and Vitor Roque
Goals:Fabricio Bruno (1-0, min. 56), Fabricio Bruno (2-0, min. 59), Ayrton Lucas (3-0, min. 63), Lazaro (4-0, min. 71) and Pedro (5-0, min. 90)