Flamengo 3-0 America: Flamengo overwhelm visitors at the Maracana

Photo Credit: AP

America Mineiro fell to an away defeat at the hands of Flamengo at Maracana on Sunday. Both Flamengo and America came from defeats in their previous league games. Flamengo were hoping to get something from this game after losing their last match 2-0 to Atl. Mineiro. America had lost their previous match against Fortaleza EC. As things stand, Flamengo and America currently occupy 7th and 16th spots in the league, with 18 points and 15 points respectively after 14 matches.

Flamengo started strongly in the first half, when Gabriel Barbosa opened the rout just before halftime

Flamengo continued to pile on the pressure in the second and were rewarded, with a goal from Giorgian De Arrascaeta at the 71 minute mark. They then scored again, increasing their advantage thanks to a goal from Marinho just before the final whistle to make it 3-0.

Substitutions for Flamengo included Everton Ribeiro, Lazaro, Diego, Willian Arao and Marinho for Gabriel Barbosa, Giorgian De Arrascaeta, Andreas Pereira, Joao Gomes and Pedro, repectively. America brought on Pedrinho, Aloisio, Luan Patrick, Matheusinho and Ze Ricardo for Felipe Azevedo, Henrique Almeida, Marlon Matheus, Everaldo and Lucas Kal.

There were bookings for Joao Gomes from Flamengo. For America, Danilo Avelar saw yellow.

Flamengo will next travel to Santos FC, while America will face Goiás EC at home.

Technical card:
Flamengo:Santos, Ayrton Lucas, Rodinei, Leo Pereira, Gustavo Henrique, Andreas Pereira (Diego, min.74), Thiago Maia, Giorgian De Arrascaeta (Lazaro, min.74), Joao Gomes (Willian Arao, min.83), Pedro (Marinho, min.83) and Gabriel Barbosa (Everton Ribeiro, min.69)
America Mineiro:Matheus, Patric, Lucas Kal (Ze Ricardo, min.73), Eder Ferreira, Danilo Avelar, Everaldo (Matheusinho, min.73), Felipe Azevedo (Pedrinho, min.55), Juninho, Alexandre Egea, Marlon Matheus (Luan Patrick, min.55) and Henrique Almeida (Aloisio, min.55)
Goals:Gabriel Barbosa (1-0, min. 41), Giorgian De Arrascaeta (2-0, min. 71) and Marinho (3-0, min. 90)