Coritiba 1-2 Santos: Santástico get a late winner at Estadio Couto Pereira

Photo Credit: AP

Santos FC defeated Coritiba 2-1 on Tuesday at Estadio Couto Pereira. Coritiba arrived at the match looking pick up points, following a previous defeat to Goiás EC. Santos had managed to pick up a single point in their matchup with Fluminense. After today’s result, Coritiba and Santos currently occupy 15th and 9th spots in the table, with 22 points and 30 points respectively after 21 matches.

It was an impressive opening from Santos, when Madson found the net just before halftime. The score at half time was 1-0.

Coritiba took the lead in the second half, when Leo Gamalho found the net, at 57 minutes. Santos in turn, then responded just before the final whistle increasing their lead with an effort from Brayan Angulo, leaving the final score at 2-1.

Substitutions for Coritiba included Thonny Anderson, Jose Hugo Sousa dos Santos, Nathan, Adrian Martinez and Natanael for Jesus Trindade, Alef Manga, Hernan Perez, Leo Gamalho and Matheus Alexandre, repectively. Santos brought on Angelo, Vinicius Lourenco, Bruno Felipe De Oliveira and Brayan Angulo, to replace Lucas Henrique Barbosa, Carlos Sanchez, Vinicius Zanocelo and Marcos Leonardo.

There were bookings for Hernan Perez, Willian Farias and Alef Manga from Coritiba, and Maicon, Joao Paulo and Lucas Braga, for Santos.

Coritiba will next play Atl. Mineiro at home, with Santos facing America Mineiro away.

Technical card:
Coritiba:Alex Muralha, Matheus Alexandre (Natanael, min.86), Luciano Castan, Henrique, Hernan Perez (Nathan, min.73), Guilherme Biro, Alef Manga (Jose Hugo Sousa dos Santos, min.59), Willian Farias, Jesus Trindade (Thonny Anderson, min.46), Bruno Gomes and Leo Gamalho (Adrian Martinez, min.86)
Santos FC:Joao Paulo, Madson, Maicon, Eduardo Bauermann, Felipe Jonatan, Lucas Henrique Barbosa (Angelo, min.69), Carlos Sanchez (Vinicius Lourenco, min.83), Rodrigo Fernandez, Vinicius Zanocelo (Bruno Felipe De Oliveira, min.88), Lucas Braga and Marcos Leonardo (Brayan Angulo, min.89)
Stadium:Estadio Couto Pereira
Goals:Madson (0-1, min. 47), Leo Gamalho (1-1, min. 57) and Brayan Angulo (1-2, min. 90)