Coritiba 2-1 Bragantino: Coritiba hold out for home three points

Photo Credit: AP

Coritiba banked all three points against the Red Bull Bragantino in a 2-1 victory on Monday, at Estadio Couto Pereira. Coritiba were looking forward to playing again after losing their last match 4-0 to Palmeiras. Bragantino, meanwhile, were able to continue their winning streak after a 2-1 win against Cuiaba in their last match. Coritiba are currently 15th with 34 points from 31 matches, while Bragantino sit in 12th, with 38 points from 31.

Coritiba dominated the first half, when Alef Manga gave them the lead, 12 minutes in. However, their celebrations were kept brief, as Werik Popo equalised for Bragantino in the 26th minute, to take a 1-1 lead into half time.

Coritiba continued to pile on the pressure in the second half and were rewarded, when Bruno Gomes gave them the lead, 58 minutes in, leaving the final score at 2-1.

Substitutions for Coritiba included Bernardo Marcos Lemes, Jose Hugo Sousa dos Santos, Juan Diaz, Matheus Alexandre and Guillermo De los Santos for Gabriel Boschilia, Fabricio Daniel, Bruno Gomes, Natanael and Jesus Trindade, respectively. Bragantino brought on Carlos Eduardo, Ramires, Luan Candido, Welliton Silva de Azevedo Matheus and Miguel, to replace Hyoran, Jadsom, Ramon, Marcos Vinicios and Leonardo Realpe.

The referee booked Jadsom, Maycon and Lucas Evangelista for Bragantino and Warley saw the red card, for Coritiba.

Coritiba will next play Athletico Paranaense away, with Bragantino facing Santos FC at home.

Technical card:
Coritiba:Gabriel, Natanael (Matheus Alexandre, min.80), Jhon Chancellor, Luciano Castan, Rafael Santos, Warley, Gabriel Boschilia (Bernardo Marcos Lemes, min.37), Bruno Gomes (Juan Diaz, min.80), Jesus Trindade (Guillermo De los Santos, min.88), Alef Manga and Fabricio Daniel (Jose Hugo Sousa dos Santos, min.80)
Red Bull Bragantino:Cleiton, Raul, Leonardo Realpe (Miguel, min.79), Natan, Ramon (Luan Candido, min.63), Artur, Hyoran (Carlos Eduardo, min.62), Jadsom (Ramires, min.62), Lucas Evangelista, Marcos Vinicios (Welliton Silva de Azevedo Matheus, min.74), Werik Popo and Maycon
Stadium:Estadio Couto Pereira
Goals:Alef Manga (1-0, min. 12), Werik Popo (1-1, min. 26) and Bruno Gomes (2-1, min. 58)