Coritiba 2-1 Fortaleza: Visitors fall short as Coritaba produce a late winner

Photo Credit: AP

Coritiba eased past Fortaleza EC in a 2-1 victory on Monday at Estadio Couto Pereira. With each team arriving on the back of a league defeat, they were both keen to pick up points. Coritiba were looking to get back their winning ways after losing their last match 3-0 to Internacional. Fortaleza lost 3-2 in the last match they played against Atl. Mineiro. As it stands, Coritiba are in 11th place in the table and have 18 points while Fortaleza sit in 20th with 10 points after 15 matches.

Coritiba started the match well, with an early goal from Leo Gamalho in the 2nd minute. They then managed to see out the first half 1-0.

Fortaleza took the initiative in the second half, when Zagueiro Habraao found the net, 85 minutes in. In the end though, Coritiba just before the final whistle took the victory via a Jose Hugo Sousa dos Santos goal, leaving the final score at 2-1.

Substitutions for Coritiba included Thonny Anderson, Jose Hugo Sousa dos Santos, Egidio, Nathan and Bernardo Marcos Lemes for Warley, Alef Manga, Diego Porfirio da Silva, Thonny Anderson and Fabricio Daniel, repectively. Fortaleza brought on Yago Pikachu, Hercules Pereira Do Nascimento, Lucas Lima, Silvio Romero and Lucas Crispim, to replace Matheus de Vargas, Ronald, Vitor Ricardo, Moises Vieira da Veiga and Titi.

The referee booked six players. Alef Manga and Val from Coritiba, who saw yellow cards and Nathan, sent off with a red, as well as for Fortaleza Ronald, Juninho Capixaba and Titi also seeing yellows.

Fortaleza and Coritiba will next play at home to Palmeiras and Juventude respectively.

Technical card:
Coritiba:Rafael William Dias Pinheiro, Matheus Alexandre, Henrique, Luciano Castan, Diego Porfirio da Silva (Egidio, min.61), Warley (Thonny Anderson, min.31), Val, Willian Farias, Alef Manga (Jose Hugo Sousa dos Santos, min.46), Fabricio Daniel (Bernardo Marcos Lemes, min.67) and Leo Gamalho
Fortaleza EC:Marcelo Boeck, Zagueiro Habraao, Marcelo Benevenuto, Titi (Lucas Crispim, min.79), Vitor Ricardo (Lucas Lima, min.46), Jose Welison, Ronald (Hercules Pereira Do Nascimento, min.46), Juninho Capixaba, Matheus de Vargas (Yago Pikachu, min.46), Moises Vieira da Veiga (Silvio Romero, min.78) and Romarinho
Stadium:Estadio Couto Pereira
Goals:Leo Gamalho (1-0, min. 2), Zagueiro Habraao (1-1, min. 85) and Jose Hugo Sousa dos Santos (2-1, min. 90)