Ceará 0-1 Fortaleza: Tricolor secure narrow road success

Photo Credit: AP

Fortaleza EC beat Ceará with a thumping 1-0 victory on Sunday at Estadio Castelao. Ceará arrived with the intention of increasing their league score after a 1-1 draw against Botafogo. Fortaleza were hoping to increase their winning streak after back-to-back victories against Internacional and Cuiaba. As it stands, Ceará and Fortaleza are 14th, (25 points) and 15th, (24 points), in the table respectively, after 22 matches.

It was an impressive opening from Fortaleza, when Moises Vieira da Veiga gave Fortaleza the lead at the 17 minute mark, finishing the first half 1-0. With both teams struggling to produce anything meaningful in the second half though, the match ended 1-0.

Substitutions for Ceará included Erick, Vinicius Lima, Jhon Vasquez, Lucas Ribeiro and Bruno Pacheco for Richardson, Vinicius Goes, Matheus Peixoto, Marcos Victor Ferreira da Silva and Victor Luis, repectively. Fortaleza brought on Hercules Pereira Do Nascimento, Valentin Depietri, Fabricio Baiano and Matheus de Vargas, to replace Ronald, Moises Vieira da Veiga, Thiago Galhardo and Robson.

There were bookings for Nino Paraiba, Gabriel Lacerda and Stiven Mendoza from Ceará. For Fortaleza, Marcelo Benevenuto, Thiago Galhardo, Robson and Jose Welison saw yellow.

Ceará will play away against Red Bull Bragantino, while Fortaleza will face Corinthians at home.

Technical card:
Ceará:Joao Ricardo, Nino Paraiba, Marcos Victor Ferreira da Silva (Lucas Ribeiro, min.68), Gabriel Lacerda, Victor Luis (Bruno Pacheco, min.86), Matheus Peixoto (Jhon Vasquez, min.60), Vinicius Goes (Vinicius Lima, min.60), Richard, Guilherme Castilho, Richardson (Erick, min.46) and Stiven Mendoza
Fortaleza EC:Fernando Miguel, Emanuel Britez, Titi, Marcelo Benevenuto, Juninho Capixaba, Jose Welison, Thiago Galhardo (Fabricio Baiano, min.88), Ronald (Hercules Pereira Do Nascimento, min.72), Lucas Sasha, Moises Vieira da Veiga (Valentin Depietri, min.72) and Robson (Matheus de Vargas, min.90)
Stadium:Estadio Castelao
Goals:Moises Vieira da Veiga (0-1, min. 17)