Ceará 1-2 America: Visitors triumph as Ceará fall to third straight loss

Photo Credit: AP

America Mineiro enjoyed an away victory against Ceará at Estadio Castelao on Saturday. Both teams arrived at the match with previous defeats in the league. Ceará were looking to get back to winning ways after losing 1-0 to Coritiba in their last fixture, while America had lost their previous match against Cuiaba. Ceará are now in 16th place, with 31 points from 29 matches, while America sit in 8th, with 39 points from 29.

It was an impressive opening from America, when Juninho found the net, at 25 minutes, finishing the first half 1-0.

America continued to pile on the pressure in the second period and were rewarded, when Felipe Azevedo found the net, 68 minutes in. In the end though, Ceará pull-back via a Vinicius Goes goal just before the final whistle, seing the match finish 2-1.

Substitutions for Ceará included Jhon Vasquez, Vinicius Goes, Jo, Diego and Vinicius Lima for Erick, Fernando Sobral, Ze Roberto, Richard and Stiven Mendoza, respectively. America brought on Matheusinho, Felipe Azevedo, Marlon Matheus, Indio Ramirez and Martin Benitez, to replace Everaldo, Aloisio, Danilo Avelar, Gonzalo Mastriani and Alexandre Egea.

There were bookings for Fernando Sobral, Richard and Stiven Mendoza from Ceará, and Everaldo, Aloisio, Matheus and Indio Ramirez, for America.

America and Ceará will next play at home to São Paulo and Goiás EC respectively.

Technical card:
Ceará:Joao Ricardo, Nino Paraiba, Erick (Jhon Vasquez, min.46), Luiz Otavio, Victor Luis, Gabriel Lacerda, Guilherme Castilho, Richard (Diego, min.76), Fernando Sobral (Vinicius Goes, min.46), Stiven Mendoza (Vinicius Lima, min.76) and Ze Roberto (Jo, min.46)
America Mineiro:Matheus, Lucas Kal, German Conti, Ricardo Silva, Patric, Everaldo (Matheusinho, min.68), Juninho, Alexandre Egea (Martin Benitez, min.88), Danilo Avelar (Marlon Matheus, min.74), Gonzalo Mastriani (Indio Ramirez, min.88) and Aloisio (Felipe Azevedo, min.68)
Stadium:Estadio Castelao
Goals:Juninho (0-1, min. 25), Felipe Azevedo (0-2, min. 68) and Vinicius Goes (1-2, min. 90)