Mineiro 3-2 Fortaleza: Visitors just fall short at Minerio find a 90th-minute winner

Photo Credit: AP

Fortaleza EC on away loss to Mineiro at Governador Magalhaes Pinto on Sunday. Both Mineiro and Fortaleza arrived in good form, having secured victories in their previous matches. Mineiro were looking to pick up points after winning last match. Fortaleza, on the other hand, were looking to extend their winning run after a 1-0 victory against America Mineiro. As the table looks today, Mineiro are in 5th place in the table and have 24 points while Fortaleza sit in 19th with 10 points after 14 matches.

Fortaleza started strongly in the first half, with an early goal from Romarinho in the 3rd minute. However they weren’t finished yet and Romarinho made it 2-0 at the 29 minute mark. The score at half time was 2-0.

Mineiro continued to apply pressure in the second and were rewarded, with a goal from Rubens, at 76 minutes. The momentum was now with Mineiro, who then scored again through a goal from Rever at the 87 minute mark to establish a 2-2. Mineiro then scored again and turned the match thanks to a calamitous own goal from Matheus Jussa just before the final whistle with a final score of 3-2.

Substitutions for Mineiro included Eduardo Vargas, Otavio, Rubens, Fabio and Ademir for Junior Alonso, Allan, Guilherme Castilho, Eduardo Sasha and Savio, repectively. Fortaleza replaced Silvio Romero, Valentin Depietri, Lucas Crispim and Matheus Jussa with Romarinho, Lucas Lima, Moises Vieira da Veiga and Ronald.

The referee booked four players from Fortaleza, Ronald, Marcelo Boeck, Lucas Crispim and Vitor Ricardo.

Next up, Mineiro are away to Juventude, whilst Fortaleza will travel to face Coritiba.

Technical card:
Atl. Mineiro:Everson, Guga, Rever, Igor Rabello, Guilherme Arana, Savio (Ademir, min.67), Calebe, Allan (Otavio, min.46), Junior Alonso (Eduardo Vargas, min.34), Guilherme Castilho (Rubens, min.46) and Eduardo Sasha (Fabio, min.47)
Fortaleza EC:Marcelo Boeck, Titi, Brayan Ceballos, Marcelo Benevenuto, Yago Pikachu, Ronald (Matheus Jussa, min.90), Felipe, Juninho Capixaba, Romarinho (Silvio Romero, min.67), Moises Vieira da Veiga (Lucas Crispim, min.79), Lucas Lima (Valentin Depietri, min.79) and Vitor Ricardo
Stadium:Governador Magalhaes Pinto
Goals:Romarinho (0-1, min. 3), Romarinho (0-2, min. 29), Rubens (1-2, min. 76), Rever (2-2, min. 87) and Matheus Jussa (3-2, min. 90)