Paranaense 2-2 Cuiaba: Visitors battle back for a point

Photo Credit: AP

Paranaense were helde ach other to a 2-2 draw by Cuiaba on Monday at Arena da Baixada. Paranaense were on the hunt for more points following a disappointing 1-1 draw with Avai in their previous game while Cuiaba had lost their previous match against Internacional. Paranaense and Cuiaba sit 6th, (43 points) and 18th, (26 points), in the league respectively, after 27 matches.

The first half of the match started favourably for Cuiaba, when Rodriguinho found the net, 8 minutes in. However, the good form didn’t last for long, as an equalizer from Tomas Cuello, 35 minutes in, brought Paranaense level. They then scored again, pulling level thanks to a penalty goal from David Terans just before half-time, to take a 2-1 lead into half time.

Cuiaba took the lead in the second half, with a goal from Deyverson, 64 minutes in, seing the match finish 2-2.

Substitutions for Paranaense included Romulo, Pablo Felipe, Matheus Felipe, Leo Cittadini and Marlos for Agustin Canobbio, Vitor Roque, Pedro Henrique, Hugo Moura and Tomas Cuello, respectively. Cuiaba brought on Kelvin Osorio, Rafael Gava, Marcao Silva, Joao Lucas and Alan Empereur, to replace Alesson, Denilson Alves Borges, Igor Carius, Daniel Guedes and Deyverson.

The referee booked Vitor Roque, Hugo Moura and Pedrinho from Paranaense. Cuiaba had the worst of it though, with Paulao and Camilo seeing yellow, and Paulao (2 yellow cards) then sent off with a red.

Paranaense will play their next fixture away against Santos FC, while Cuiaba will face America Mineiro at home.

Technical card:
Athletico Paranaense:Anderson Silva, Khellven, Pedro Henrique (Matheus Felipe, min.59), Thiago Heleno, Pedrinho, Agustin Canobbio (Romulo, min.47), Hugo Moura (Leo Cittadini, min.70), Alex Santana, David Terans, Tomas Cuello (Marlos, min.76) and Vitor Roque (Pablo Felipe, min.52)
Cuiaba:Joao Carlos, Daniel Guedes (Joao Lucas, min.86), Paulao, Marllon, Igor Carius (Marcao Silva, min.78), Camilo, Rodriguinho, Joaquim, Denilson Alves Borges (Rafael Gava, min.70), Alesson (Kelvin Osorio, min.70) and Deyverson (Alan Empereur, min.86)
Stadium:Arena da Baixada
Goals:Rodriguinho (0-1, min. 8), Tomas Cuello (1-1, min. 35), David Terans (2-1, min. 45) and Deyverson (2-2, min. 64)