Paranaense 4-1 Goianense: Paranaense race away to victory at Arena da Baixada

Photo Credit: AP

Paranaense enjoyed a mesmerising home victory against Atlético Goianense at Arena da Baixada on Thursday. Paranaense arrived with the intention of increasing their league score following a disappointing 0-0 draw with Internacional in their previous game. Goianense had lost their previous match against Fortaleza EC. At the moment, Paranaense are in 3rd place, with 31 points from 18 matches, while Goianense sit in 18th, with 17 points from 18.

Paranaense dominated the first half, when Tomas Cuello opened the rout at the 9 minute mark. However they weren’t finished yet and Agustin Canobbio made it 2-0, 14 minutes in, to take a 2-0 lead into half time.

Paranaense fought back, with an early goal from David Terans in the 49th minute. However, Goianense weren’t lying down and managed to pull back a goal from Kelvin in the 72nd minute. In the end though, Paranaense secured the points emphatically, with a goal from Leo Cittadini just before the final whistle. The match ended with a 4-1 win for Paranaense.

Substitutions for Paranaense included Romulo, Fernandinho, Pedrinho, Vitor Roque and Leo Cittadini for Pablo Felipe, Erick, Tomas Cuello, Agustin Canobbio and David Terans, repectively. Goianense brought on Arthur Henry, Shaylon, Kelvin, Leo Pereira and Ricardinho for Jefferson, Airton, Luiz Fernando, Wellington Rato and Marlon Freitas.

The referee booked Tomas Cuello, David Terans and Vitor Roque for Paranaense.

Paranaense will play away against Botafogo, while Goianense will face America Mineiro at home.

Technical card:
Athletico Paranaense:Bento, Khellven, Pedro Henrique, Nicolas Hernandez, Abner, Agustin Canobbio (Vitor Roque, min.73), David Terans (Leo Cittadini, min.84), Hugo Moura, Erick (Fernandinho, min.71), Tomas Cuello (Pedrinho, min.73) and Pablo Felipe (Romulo, min.46)
Atlético Goianense:Ronaldo, Hayner, Wanderson, Edson, Jefferson (Arthur Henry, min.46), Airton (Shaylon, min.46), Gabriel Baralha, Marlon Freitas (Ricardinho, min.83), Luiz Fernando (Kelvin, min.46), Wellington Rato (Leo Pereira, min.64) and Diego Churín
Stadium:Arena da Baixada
Goals:Tomas Cuello (1-0, min. 9), Agustin Canobbio (2-0, min. 14), David Terans (3-0, min. 49), Kelvin (3-1, min. 72) and Leo Cittadini (4-1, min. 90)