America 1 – Fortaleza 2: Visitors at Independencia secure victory

Photo Credit: AP

Fortaleza EC enjoyed an away victory against America at Independencia on Sunday. Both teams arrived in good form, having secured victories in their previous matches. America had been hopeful of continuing their good run after winning last match. Fortaleza were coming off the back of a 2-0 win against Avai. America are now in 8th place on the table and have 45 points while Fortaleza sit in 9th with 44 points after 32 matches.

Fortaleza started the match strongly, thanks to a goal from Thiago Galhardo, 34 minutes in, saw out the first half 1-0.

Fortaleza continued to pile on the pressure in the second period and were rewarded, when Thiago Galhardo found the net once more, at 83 minutes. America in turn, then responded just before the full time, grabbing the lead with an effort from Wellington Paulista. When the final whistle blew, the result was 2-1 to Fortaleza.

Substitutions for America included Gonzalo Mastriani, Martin Benitez, Aloisio, Danilo Avelar and Wellington Paulista for Henrique Almeida, Gustavinho, Felipe Azevedo, Marlon Matheus and Juninho, respectively. Fortaleza brought on Lucas Crispim, Romarinho, Zagueiro Habraao, Ronald and Moises Vieira da Veiga for Robson, Pedro Rocha, Romarinho, Hercules Pereira Do Nascimento and Thiago Galhardo.

The referee booked Henrique Almeida from America. Fortaleza had the worst of it though, with Caio Alexandre, Tinga and Romarinho seeing yellow, and Caio Alexandre (2 yellow cards) then sent off with a red.

America next face Flamengo while Fortaleza are at home to Atl. Mineiro.

Technical card:
America Mineiro:Matheus, Luan Patrick, Ricardo Silva, Eder Ferreira, Marlon Matheus (Danilo Avelar, min.70), Juninho (Wellington Paulista, min.76), Matheusinho, Alexandre Egea, Henrique Almeida (Gonzalo Mastriani, min.46), Gustavinho (Martin Benitez, min.47) and Felipe Azevedo (Aloisio, min.59)
Fortaleza EC:Fernando Miguel, Tinga, Emanuel Britez, Titi, Juninho Capixaba, Pedro Rocha (Romarinho, min.64), Caio Alexandre, Hercules Pereira Do Nascimento (Ronald, min.86), Jose Welison, Robson (Lucas Crispim, min.64) and Thiago Galhardo (Moises Vieira da Veiga, min.90)
Goals:Thiago Galhardo (0-1, min. 34), Thiago Galhardo (0-2, min. 83) and Wellington Paulista (1-2, min. 90)