Sassuolo 5-0 Salernitana: No mercy for Granate as Neroverdi take the points

Photo Credit: AP

Salernitana fell to an away defeat at the hands of Sassuolo at the MAPEI Stadium on Sunday. Sassuolo were looking to continue their good run, following a 1-0 victory against Torino. Salernitana were beaten 2-1 in their previous match against Lecce. Sassuolo are now in 7th place on the table and have 12 points while Salernitana sit in 14th with 7 points after 8 matches.

Sassuolo started strongly in the first half, when Armand Lauriente opened the rout in the 12th minute. However they weren’t finished yet and Andrea Pinamonti made it 2-0 on the 39 minute mark, finishing the first half 2-0.

Neroverdi staged a comeback in the second half, when Kristian Thorstvedt found the net, 53 minutes in. The momentum was again with Sassuolo, who then scored again courtesy of a goal from Abdou Harroui in the 76th minute to establish a 4-0 result. They then scored again, pulling level thanks to a goal from Janis Antiste just before the full time to give a final score of 5-0.

Substitutions for Sassuolo included Agustin Alvarez Martinez, Janis Antiste, Abdou Harroui, Kaan Ayhan and Pedro Obiang for Andrea Pinamonti, Emil Konradsen Ceide, Kristian Thorstvedt, Martin Erlic and Davide Frattesi, respectively. Salernitana brought on Domagoj Bradaric, Ivan Radovanovic, Federico Bonazzoli, Erik Botheim and Grigoris Kastanos, to replace Dylan Bronn, Giulio Maggiore, Tonny Vilhena, Boulaye Dia and Pasquale Mazzocchi.

There were bookings for Rogerio from Sassuolo. For Salernitana, Tonny Vilhena saw yellow.

Salernitana and Sassuolo will next play at home to Hellas Verona and Internazionale respectively.

Technical card:
Sassuolo:Andrea Consigli, Jeremy Toljan, Martin Erlic (Kaan Ayhan, min.68), Gian Marco Ferrari, Rogerio, Kristian Thorstvedt (Abdou Harroui, min.67), Maxime Lopez, Davide Frattesi (Pedro Obiang, min.80), Emil Konradsen Ceide (Janis Antiste, min.59), Armand Lauriente and Andrea Pinamonti (Agustin Alvarez Martinez, min.46)
Salernitana:Luigi Sepe, Flavius Daniliuc, Dylan Bronn (Domagoj Bradaric, min.46), Matteo Lovato, Antonio Candreva, Lassana Coulibaly, Giulio Maggiore (Ivan Radovanovic, min.46), Tonny Vilhena (Federico Bonazzoli, min.59), Pasquale Mazzocchi (Grigoris Kastanos, min.81), Krzysztof Piatek and Boulaye Dia (Erik Botheim, min.81)
Stadium:the MAPEI Stadium
Goals:Armand Lauriente (1-0, min. 12), Andrea Pinamonti (2-0, min. 39), Kristian Thorstvedt (3-0, min. 53), Abdou Harroui (4-0, min. 76) and Janis Antiste (5-0, min. 90)