Sampdoria 1-2 AC Milan: Giroud nets a winner for reigning Serie A champions

Sampdoria vs AC Milan
Photo Credit: AP

Sampdoria on home loss to AC Milan at the Stadio Luigi Ferraris on Saturday. Sampdoria arrived at the match looking to pick up more points after losing 2-1 to Hellas Verona in their last match. Milan were coming from a 3-2 win against Internazionale. Sampdoria and Milan currently occupy 18th and 2nd spots in the table, with 2 points and 14 points respectively after 6 matches.

Milan dominated the first half, when Junior Messias gave them the lead after only 6 minutes, saw out the first half 1-0.

Sampdoria took the initiative in the second half, with a goal from Filip Djuricic in the 57th minute. In the end though, Rossoneri took the victory thanks to a Olivier Giroud goal in the 67th minute. When the final whistle blew, the result was 2-1 to Milan.

Substitutions for Sampdoria included Manolo Gabbiadini, Fabio Quagliarella, Valerio Verre and Ronaldo Vieira for Bartosz Bereszynski, Francesco Caputo, Filip Djuricic and Gonzalo Villar, respectively. Milan brought on Fikayo Tomori, Ismael Bennacer and Aster Vranckx, to replace Junior Messias, Charles De Ketelaere and Tommaso Pobega.

The referee booked Alex Ferrari, Gonzalo Villar, Fabio Quagliarella, Tommaso Augello and Mehdi Leris from Sampdoria. Milan had the worst of it though, with Rafael Leao seeing yellow, and Rafael Leao (2 yellow cards) then sent off with a red.

Sampdoria will next travel to Spezia Calcio, while Milan will face Napoli at home.

Technical card:
Sampdoria:Emil Audero, Bartosz Bereszynski (Manolo Gabbiadini, min.59), Alex Ferrari, Jeison Murillo, Tommaso Augello, Mehdi Leris, Tomas Rincon, Gonzalo Villar (Ronaldo Vieira, min.86), Abdelhamid Sabiri, Filip Djuricic (Valerio Verre, min.79) and Francesco Caputo (Fabio Quagliarella, min.79)
AC Milan:Mike Maignan, Davide Calabria, Pierre Kalulu, Simon Kjaer, Theo Hernandez, Junior Messias (Fikayo Tomori, min.60), Charles De Ketelaere (Ismael Bennacer, min.71), Tommaso Pobega (Aster Vranckx, min.78), Sandro Tonali, Rafael Leao and Olivier Giroud
Stadium:the Stadio Luigi Ferraris
Goals:Junior Messias (0-1, min. 6), Filip Djuricic (1-1, min. 57) and Olivier Giroud (1-2, min. 67)