Cremonese 1-4 Napoli: Visitors rally late against USC to stay top

Photo Credit: AP

Cremonese fell to a home defeat at the hands of Napoli at Stadio Giovanni Zini on Sunday. USC arrived with the intention of improving their league position after a 1-1 draw against Lecce while Napoli were coming from consecutive wins against Torino and AC Milan. USC are now in 19th place, with 3 points from 9 matches, while Napoli sit in 1st, with 23 points from 9.

Napoli started strongly in the first half, when Matteo Politano opened the rout on the 26 minute mark. However, USC then grabbed a goal from Cyriel Dessers just before half-time, finishing the first half 1-1.

Gli Azzurri continued to pile on the pressure in the second period and were rewarded, when Giovanni Simeone found the net, 76 minutes in. The momentum was again with Napoli, who then scored again courtesy of a goal from Hirving Lozano in the 90th minute to establish a 3-1 result. They then scored again, pulling level thanks to a goal from Mathias Olivera just before the full time to make it 4-1.

Substitutions for USC included David Okereke, Gonzalo Escalante, Cristian Buonaiuto, Emanuel Aiwu and Daniel Ciofani for Luca Zanimacchia, Felix Afena-Gyan, Emanuele Valeri, Cyriel Dessers and Santiago Ascacibar, respectively. Napoli brought on Giovanni Simeone, Hirving Lozano, Piotr Zielinski, Mathias Olivera and Leo Ostigard, to replace Tanguy Ndombele, Matteo Politano, Giacomo Raspadori, Mario Rui and Amir Rrahmani.

The referee booked Luca Zanimacchia and Leonardo Sernicola for USC.

USC will next travel to Spezia Calcio, while Napoli will face Bologna at home.

Technical card:
Cremonese:Andrei Radu, Leonardo Sernicola, Matteo Bianchetti, Luka Lochoshvili, Emanuele Valeri (Cristian Buonaiuto, min.72), Luca Zanimacchia (David Okereke, min.46), Felix Afena-Gyan (Gonzalo Escalante, min.62), Soualiho Meite, Santiago Ascacibar (Daniel Ciofani, min.80), Giacomo Quagliata and Cyriel Dessers (Emanuel Aiwu, min.73)
Napoli:Alex Meret, Giovanni Di Lorenzo, Amir Rrahmani (Leo Ostigard, min.82), Min-jae Kim, Mario Rui (Mathias Olivera, min.82), Tanguy Ndombele (Giovanni Simeone, min.57), Stanislav Lobotka, Andre Zambo Anguissa, Giacomo Raspadori (Piotr Zielinski, min.73), Matteo Politano (Hirving Lozano, min.73) and Khvicha Kvaratskhelia
Stadium:Stadio Giovanni Zini
Goals:Matteo Politano (0-1, min. 26), Cyriel Dessers (1-1, min. 47), Giovanni Simeone (1-2, min. 76), Hirving Lozano (1-3, min. 90) and Mathias Olivera (1-4, min. 90)