Bournemouth 2-3 Tottenham: The Lilywhites pass a big test against The Cherries

Photo Credit: AP

Tottenham Hotspur eased past Bournemouth in a 3-2 victory on Saturday at the Vitality Stadium. Both sides came from defeats in their previous league games. Bournemouth were hoping to get something from this game after losing their last match 2-0 to West Ham United while Spurs were beaten 2-1 in their previous match against Newcastle United. Bournemouth are now in 14th place, with 13 points from 14 matches, while Spurs sit in 3rd, with 26 points from 14.

The Cherries started strongly in the first half, when Kieffer Moore gave them the lead on the 22 minute mark to see out the first half 1-0.

Bournemouth fought back, with an early 2nd effort from Kieffer Moore in the 49th minute. However, The Lilywhites refused to lie down and managed to pull back a goal from Ryan Sessegnon on the 57 minute mark. Spurs looked to have the match under control when they scored again to grab the advantage, thanks to a goal from Ben Davies, at 73 minutes to establish a 2-2. However they weren’t finished yet and Rodrigo Bentancur made it 3-2 just before the final whistle to make it 3-2.

Substitutions for Bournemouth included Jaidon Anthony, Ryan Fredericks and Jack Stephens for Philip Billing, Marcus Tavernier and Dominic Solanke, respectively. Spurs brought on Lucas Moura, Eric Dier, Rodrigo Bentancur, Ivan Perisic and Bryan Salvatierra for Oliver Skipp, Davinson Sanchez, Yves Bissouma, Emerson and Ryan Sessegnon.

There were bookings for Lewis Cook from Bournemouth. For Spurs, Ryan Sessegnon and Harry Kane saw yellow.

Bournemouth will next travel to Leeds United, while Spurs will face Liverpool at home.

Technical card:
Bournemouth:Mark Travers, Jordan Zemura, Chris Mepham, Marcos Senesi, Adam Smith, Kieffer Moore, Jefferson Lerma, Lewis Cook, Philip Billing (Jaidon Anthony, min.63), Marcus Tavernier (Ryan Fredericks, min.78) and Dominic Solanke (Jack Stephens, min.89)
Tottenham Hotspur:Hugo Lloris, Davinson Sanchez (Eric Dier, min.58), Ben Davies, Clement Lenglet, Emerson (Ivan Perisic, min.64), Pierre Hojbjerg, Yves Bissouma (Rodrigo Bentancur, min.58), Oliver Skipp (Lucas Moura, min.50), Ryan Sessegnon (Bryan Salvatierra, min.85), Heung Min Son and Harry Kane
Stadium:the Vitality Stadium
Goals:Kieffer Moore (1-0, min. 22), Kieffer Moore (2-0, min. 49), Ryan Sessegnon (2-1, min. 57), Ben Davies (2-2, min. 73) and Rodrigo Bentancur (2-3, min. 90)