Aston Villa 4-0 Brentford: Managerless Villa hammer the Bees

Photo Credit: AP

Aston Villa beated Brentford 4-0 on Sunday at Villa Park. Villa arrived at the match looking to pick up more points after losing 3-0 to Fulham in their previous fixture. Brentford, meanwhile, had managed to pick up a point in their matchup with Chelsea. Villa and Brentford are 14th, (12 points) and 10th, (14 points), spots respectively, after 13 matches.

Villa dominated the first half, with an early goal from Leon Bailey in the 2nd minute. The momentum was again with The Villa, who then scored again courtesy of a goal from Danny Ings 7 minutes into the game to establish a 2-0 result. The Villa then netted once more and increased their lead thanks to a 2nd effort from Danny Ings, 14 minutes in. The first half ended 3-0.

Villa continued to pile on the pressure in the second half and were rewarded, thanks to a goal from Ollie Watkins, at 59 minutes. The match ended with a 4-0 home victory.

Substitutions for Villa included John McGinn, Jacob Ramsey, Philippe Coutinho, Calum Chambers and Cameron Archer for Leander Dendoncker, Leon Bailey, Emiliano Buendia, Matty Cash and Ollie Watkins, respectively. Brentford brought on Pelenda Da Silva, Sergi Canos, Mikkel Damsgaard, Yoane Wissa and Shandon Baptiste, to replace Frank Onyeka, Mads Roerslev Rasmussen, Zanka, Bryan Mbeumo and Mathias Jensen.

The referee booked Danny Ings for Villa.

Villa will play their next game away against Newcastle United, while Brentford will face Wolverhampton Wanderers at home.

Technical card:
Aston Villa:Emilano Martinez, Ashley Young, Tyrone Mings, Ezri Konsa, Matty Cash (Calum Chambers, min.81), Emiliano Buendia (Philippe Coutinho, min.71), Douglas Luiz, Leander Dendoncker (John McGinn, min.63), Danny Ings, Leon Bailey (Jacob Ramsey, min.71) and Ollie Watkins (Cameron Archer, min.81)
Brentford:David Raya, Ethan Pinnock, Zanka (Mikkel Damsgaard, min.61), Kristoffer Ajer, Mads Roerslev Rasmussen (Sergi Canos, min.46), Vitaly Janelt, Mathias Jensen (Shandon Baptiste, min.78), Frank Onyeka (Pelenda Da Silva, min.46), Rico Henry, Ivan Toney and Bryan Mbeumo (Yoane Wissa, min.62)
Stadium:Villa Park
Goals:Leon Bailey (1-0, min. 2), Danny Ings (2-0, min. 7), Danny Ings (3-0, min. 14) and Ollie Watkins (4-0, min. 59)