Montpellier 2 – RCSA 1: La Paillade see visitors off at the Stade de la Mosson

Photo Credit: AP

Montpellier enjoyed a home victory against RC Strasburg at the Stade de la Mosson on Saturday. Montpellier were looking forward to playing again after losing their last match 2-1 to Angers SCO whilst RCSA had secured a point against Clermont Foot in their previous match. Montpellier and RCSA currently occupy 6th and 17th spots in the league, with 12 points and 5 points respectively after 8 matches.

Montpellier started the match strongly, when Arnaud Nordin found the net, at 17 minutes, ending the first half 1-0.

RCSA took the lead in the second half, when Habib Diallo found the net in the 85th minute. In the end though, La Paillade took the victory following a Teji Savanier goal just before the final whistle, leaving the final score at 2-1.

Both teams used all available substitutes. Substitutions for Montpellier included Valere Germain, Khalil Fayad and Sacha Delaye for Wahbi Khazri, Arnaud Nordin and Sepe Elye Wahi, respectively, RCSA brought on Ibrahima Sissoko, Nordin Kandil and Lebo Mothiba to replace Jean-Eudes Aholou, Ronael Pierre-Gabriel and Diarra Mouhamadou.

There were bookings for Joris Chotard, Arnaud Nordin, Maxime Esteve and Nicolas Cozza from Montpellier. For RCSA, Jean-Eudes Aholou, Jeanricner Bellegarde, Ismael Doukouire and Alexander Djiku saw yellow.

Montpellier will next travel to Tolouse FC, while RCSA will face Rennes at home.

Technical card:
Montpellier:Jonas Omlin, Enzo Tchato, Christopher Jullien, Maxime Esteve, Nicolas Cozza, Arnaud Nordin (Khalil Fayad, min.84), Teji Savanier, Joris Chotard, Jordan Ferri, Wahbi Khazri (Valere Germain, min.66) and Sepe Elye Wahi (Sacha Delaye, min.84)
RC Strasburg:Matz Sels, Ismael Doukouire, Alexander Djiku, Lucas Perrin, Ronael Pierre-Gabriel (Nordin Kandil, min.70), Jean-Eudes Aholou (Ibrahima Sissoko, min.70), Diarra Mouhamadou (Lebo Mothiba, min.82), Jeanricner Bellegarde, Dimitri Lienard, Kevin Gameiro and Habib Diallo
Stadium:the Stade de la Mosson
Goals:Arnaud Nordin (1-0, min. 17), Habib Diallo (1-1, min. 85) and Teji Savanier (2-1, min. 90)