Angers 1 – Rennes 2: Visitors at the Stade Raymond Kopa secure victory

Photo Credit: AP

Rennes defeated Angers SCO 2-1 on Sunday at the Stade Raymond Kopa. Angers were looking forward to playing again after losing their last match 3-2 to Tolouse FC. Rennes were hoping to continue their winning streak after back-to-back victories against Lyon and Nantes. Angers and Rennes currently occupy 19th and 4th spots in the league, with 8 points and 24 points respectively after 12 matches.

The Rennais started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, when Amine Gouiri found the net just before half-time to see out the first half 1-0.

Angers started strong in the second half and were able to dominate, when Amine Salama found the net on the 53 minute mark. In the end though, Rennes took the victory following a Lovro Majer goal just before the final whistle, leaving the final score at 2-1.

Substitutions for Angers included Abdallah Sima, Sada Thioub and Farid El Melali for Amine Salama, Yann Valery and Sofiane Boufal, respectively. Rennes brought on Desire Doue, Lovro Majer, Birger Meling, Kamal-Deen Sulemana and Matthis Abline, to replace Amine Gouiri, Benjamin Bourigeaud, Adrien Truffert, Martin Terrier and Arnaud Kalimuendo.

There were bookings for Yann Valery from Angers, and Flavien Tait and Arthur Theate, for Rennes.

Angers will next travel to AS Mónaco, while Rennes will face Montpellier at home.

Technical card:
Angers SCO:Paul Bernardoni, Yann Valery (Sada Thioub, min.85), Batista Mendy, Cedric Hountondji, Ibrahim Amadou, Pierrick Capelle, Nabil Bentaleb, Adrien Hunou, Azzedine Ounahi, Sofiane Boufal (Farid El Melali, min.86) and Amine Salama (Abdallah Sima, min.69)
Rennes:Steve Mandanda, Hamari Traore, Christopher Wooh, Arthur Theate, Adrien Truffert (Birger Meling, min.77), Benjamin Bourigeaud (Lovro Majer, min.69), Xeka, Flavien Tait, Martin Terrier (Kamal-Deen Sulemana, min.77), Arnaud Kalimuendo (Matthis Abline, min.86) and Amine Gouiri (Desire Doue, min.68)
Stadium:the Stade Raymond Kopa
Goals:Amine Gouiri (0-1, min. 43), Amine Salama (1-1, min. 53) and Lovro Majer (1-2, min. 90)