Oxford United 1-1 Fleetwood Town: Frustrating draw played out at Kassam Stadium

Photo Credit: AP

Oxford United were helde ach other to a 1-1 draw by Fleetwood Town on Tuesday at Kassam Stadium. Both Oxford United and Fleetwood Town arrived in good form, having secured victories in their previous matches. Oxford United were keen to hang onto their position at the top of the table and extend their winning run, following a 3-1 victory against Bolton Wanderers. Fleetwood Town were looking to extend their winning run after a 3-0 victory against Accrington Stanley. Oxford United are currently 17th with 19 points from 11 matches, while Fleetwood Town sit in 15th, with 21 points from 11.

Fleetwood Town started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, with an early goal from Carlos Mendes Gomes in the 2nd minute, to take a 1-0 lead into half time.

Oxford United started strong in the second half and were able to dominate, with an early goal from Gatlin O Donkor in the 50th minute. The match ended wih a 1-1 draw.

Substitutions for Oxford United included Gatlin O Donkor, James Henry, Tyler Goodhram and Jodi Jones for Marcus Browne, Lewis Bate, Djavan Anderson and Marcus McGuane, respectively. Fleetwood Town brought on Brendan Sarpong-Wiredu, Carl Johnston and Cian Hayes, to replace Daniel Batty, Shaun Rooney and Carlos Mendes Gomes.

There were bookings for Marcus Browne, Steve Seddon and Elliott Moore from Oxford United. For Fleetwood Town, Lewis Warrington, Danny Andrew and Daniel Batty saw yellow.

Oxford United will play their next fixture at home against Port Vale, while Fleetwood Town will face Bristol Rovers away.

Technical card:
Oxford United:Marcus Browne (Gatlin O Donkor, min.46), Lewis Bate (James Henry, min.74), Djavan Anderson (Tyler Goodhram, min.74), Steve Seddon, Marcus McGuane (Jodi Jones, min.90) and Elliott Moore
Fleetwood Town:Carlos Mendes Gomes (Cian Hayes, min.90), Lewis Warrington, Danny Andrew, Daniel Batty (Brendan Sarpong-Wiredu, min.66) and Shaun Rooney (Carl Johnston, min.84)
Stadium:Kassam Stadium
Goals:Carlos Mendes Gomes (0-1, min. 2) and Gatlin O Donkor (1-1, min. 50)