Ipswich Town 2-0 Bristol Rovers: Tractor Boys dominate at Portman Road

Photo Credit: AP

On Tuesday, Bristol Rovers suffered an away defeat to Ipswich Town at Portman Road Stadium. Ipswich Town were looking to continue their good run, following a 2-0 victory against Accrington Stanley. Bristol Rovers were unable to beat Morecambe FC in a 2-2 draw. Ipswich Town are now in 1st place on the table and have 20 points while Bristol Rovers sit in 18th with 8 points after 9 matches.

It was an impressive opening from Ipswich Town, with a goal from Conor Chaplin in the 24th minute, and they saw out the first half 1-0.

Ipswich Town started strong in the second half and were able to dominate, thanks to a goal from Lee Evans on the 55 minute mark, seing the match finish 2-0.

Substitutions for Ipswich Town included Dominic Ball, Greg Leigh, Tyreece John-Jules, Gassan Ahadme and Kyle Edwards for Cameron Burgess, Leif Davis, Marcus Harness, Freddie Ladapo and Wes Burns, respectively. Bristol Rovers replaced Harvey Saunders, John Marquis, Paul Coutts, Sylvester Jasper and Glenn Whelan with Harry Anderson, Trevor Clarke, Luke McCormick, Aaron Collins and Antony Evans.

The referee booked Sam Morsy, Marcus Harness and Tyreece John-Jules from Ipswich Town. Bristol Rovers had the worst of it though, with Luca Hoole and Bobby Thomas seeing yellow, and Bobby Thomas (2 yellow cards) and Alfie Kilgour then sent off with a red.

Ipswich Town will next travel to Sheffield Wednesday, while Bristol Rovers will face Lincoln City at home.

Technical card:
Ipswich Town:Sam Morsy, Conor Chaplin, Marcus Harness (Tyreece John-Jules, min.69), Lee Evans, Cameron Burgess (Dominic Ball, min.62), Leif Davis (Greg Leigh, min.68), Freddie Ladapo (Gassan Ahadme, min.69) and Wes Burns (Kyle Edwards, min.82)
Bristol Rovers:Harry Anderson (Harvey Saunders, min.17), Trevor Clarke (John Marquis, min.62), Luke McCormick (Paul Coutts, min.62), Luca Hoole, Aaron Collins (Sylvester Jasper, min.78), Antony Evans (Glenn Whelan, min.78), Bobby Thomas and Alfie Kilgour
Stadium:Portman Road Stadium
Goals:Conor Chaplin (1-0, min. 24) and Lee Evans (2-0, min. 55)