Cádiz 2-2 Espanyol: Hosts play out a stalemate against Budgerigars

Photo Credit: AP

On Sunday, Cádiz and Espanyol played out a 2-2 draw at Estadio Ramon de Carranza. With both teams drawing in their previous fixtures, they were each keen to pick up points. Cádiz were aiming to improve their league standing following a disappointing 0-0 draw with Villarreal in their previous game whilst Espanyol were struggling for form following a draw in their last match. Cádiz are now in 19th place on the table and have 5 points while Espanyol sit in 17th with 6 points after 8 matches.

The first half of the match started well for gaditano, when Víctor Chust found the net just before half-time

Espanyol started the second half with an intensified spirit, when Joselu found the net, 51 minutes in. Budgerigars looked to have the match under control when they scored again and increased their lead, thanks to a second effort from Joselu in the 67th minute to establish a 2-1. In the end though, their lead was short-lived, as Lucas Perez equalised for Cádiz, 78 minutes in, seing the match finish 2-2.

Substitutions for Cádiz included Alex, Anthony Lozano, Brian Ocampo, Lucas Perez and Jose Mari for Fede San Emeterio, Theo Bongonda, Ivan Alejo, Alvaro Negredo and Ruben Alcaraz, respectively. Espanyol brought on Javi Puado, Keidi Bare, Jose Carlos Lazo, Pol Lozano and Oscar Regano for Nicolas Melamed Ribaudo, Sergi Darder, Aleix Vidal, Vinicius Souza and Edu Exposito.

There were bookings for Fede San Emeterio, Víctor Chust, Joseba Zaldua and Brian Ocampo from Cádiz, and Nicolas Melamed Ribaudo, Aleix Vidal, Oscar Regano and Pol Lozano, for Espanyol.

Cádiz will next travel to Girona, while Espanyol will face Real Valladolid at home.

Technical card:
Cádiz:Jeremías Ledesma, Joseba Zaldua, Víctor Chust, Luis Hernandez, Alfonso Espino, Ivan Alejo (Brian Ocampo, min.65), Ruben Alcaraz (Jose Mari, min.83), Fede San Emeterio (Alex, min.57), Theo Bongonda (Anthony Lozano, min.57), Alvaro Negredo (Lucas Perez, min.65) and Ruben Sobrino
Espanyol:Benjamin Lecomte, Fernando Calero, Sergi Gomez, Leandro Cabrera, Brian Olivan, Sergi Darder (Keidi Bare, min.76), Vinicius Souza (Pol Lozano, min.87), Edu Exposito (Oscar Regano, min.87), Joselu, Nicolas Melamed Ribaudo (Javi Puado, min.37) and Aleix Vidal (Jose Carlos Lazo, min.76)
Stadium:Estadio Ramon de Carranza
Goals:Víctor Chust (1-0, min. 41), Joselu (1-1, min. 51), Joselu (1-2, min. 67) and Lucas Perez (2-2, min. 78)