Red Star Belgrade 2 – Trabzonspor 1: Home fans rewarded with victory at the Rajko Mitic Stadium

Photo Credit: AP

Trabzonspor on away loss to Red Star Belgrade at the Rajko Mitic Stadium on Thursday. Red Star Belgrade were looking to get back to winning ways after losing their last match 2-1 to Ferencváros. Trabzonspor had been hopeful of extending their winning run, after a 4-0 victory against AS Mónaco. both teams are now on 6 points and sit in 4th and 3rd places respectively after 5 matches.

The first half of the match started well for Red Star Belgrade, when Aleksandar Katai found the net in the 37th minute. However, their celebrations were kept brief, as Tasos Bakasetas equalised for Trabzonspor on the 39 minute mark, ending the first half 1-1.

Red Star Belgrade rallied after this and were rewarded, when Aleksandar Pesic gave them the lead, 64 minutes in, leaving the final score at 2-1.

Substitutions for Red Star Belgrade included Mirko Ivanic, Kings Kangwa, Jovan Mijatovic and Ibrahim Mustapha for Slavoljub Srnic, Aleksandar Katai, Aleksandar Pesic and Stefan Mitrovic, respectively. Trabzonspor brought on Abdulkadir Omur, Djaniny, Yusuf Yazici and Montasser Lahtimi for Jean-Philippe Gbamin, Umut Bozok, Marek Hamsik and Enis Bardhi.

The referee booked Aleksandar Dragovic and Aleksandar Pesic for Red Star Belgrade.

Red Star Belgrade will play away against AS Mónaco, while Trabzonspor will face Ferencváros at home.

Technical card:
Red Star Belgrade:Milan Borjan, Strahinja Erakovic, Aleksandar Dragovic, Nemanja Milunovic, Milan Rodic, Osman Bukari, Kanga Guelor, Slavoljub Srnic (Mirko Ivanic, min.61), Aleksandar Katai (Kings Kangwa, min.75), Stefan Mitrovic (Ibrahim Mustapha, min.83) and Aleksandar Pesic (Jovan Mijatovic, min.83)
Trabzonspor:Ugurcan Cakir, Jens Stryger Larsen, Vitor Hugo, Marc Bartra, Evren Eren Elmali, Enis Bardhi (Montasser Lahtimi, min.83), Marek Hamsik (Yusuf Yazici, min.82), Jean-Philippe Gbamin (Abdulkadir Omur, min.68), Tasos Bakasetas, Trezeguet and Umut Bozok (Djaniny, min.69)
Stadium:the Rajko Mitic Stadium
Goals:Aleksandar Katai (1-0, min. 37), Tasos Bakasetas (1-1, min. 39) and Aleksandar Pesic (2-1, min. 64)