Lazio 2 – Midtjylland 1: The White and Sky Blues celebrate win at the Stadio Olympico

Photo Credit: AP

Lazio’s 2-1 win over FC Midtjylland on Thursday, was hard fought at the Stadio Olympico. With both teams drawing in their previous fixtures, they were each keen to pick up points. Lazio were on the hunt for more points following a disappointing 2-2 draw with SK Sturm Graz in their previous game. Midtjylland were unable to beat Feyenoord Rotterdam in a 2-2 draw. Lazio and Midtjylland sit 1st, (8 points) and 3rd, (5 points), in the table respectively, after 5 matches.

Midtjylland started the match strongly, when Gustav Isaksen gave them the lead on the 8 minute mark. However, their celebrations were kept brief, as Sergej Milinkovic-Savic equalised for The White and Sky Blues, 36 minutes in, to take a 1-1 lead into half time.

Lazio once more applied the pressure in the second half and were rewarded, when Pedro found the net, 58 minutes in, leaving the final score at 2-1.

Substitutions for Lazio included Danilo Cataldi, Matias Vecino, Pedro, Luka Romero and Nicolo Casale for Marcos Antonio, Toma Basic, Matteo Cancellieri, Mattia Zaccagni and Mario Gila, respectively. Midtjylland brought on Pione Sisto, Mads Dohr Thychosen, Sory Kaba, Nikolas Dyhr and Juninho, to replace Edward Chilufya, Joel Andersson, Charles, Paulinho and Emiliano Martinez.

There were bookings for Alessio Romagnoli, Mario Gila and Matias Vecino from Lazio. For Midtjylland, Joel Andersson, Juninho and Erik Sviatchenko saw yellow.

Lazio will next travel to Feyenoord Rotterdam, while Midtjylland will face SK Sturm Graz at home.

Technical card:
Lazio:Ivan Provedel, Elseid Hysaj, Mario Gila (Nicolo Casale, min.82), Alessio Romagnoli, Adam Marusic, Toma Basic (Matias Vecino, min.55), Sergej Milinkovic-Savic, Marcos Antonio (Danilo Cataldi, min.55), Felipe Anderson, Matteo Cancellieri (Pedro, min.55) and Mattia Zaccagni (Luka Romero, min.73)
FC Midtjylland:Jonas Lossl, Joel Andersson (Mads Dohr Thychosen, min.53), Erik Sviatchenko, Henrik Dalsgaard, Paulinho (Nikolas Dyhr, min.82), Charles (Sory Kaba, min.61), Evander, Emiliano Martinez (Juninho, min.82), Anders Dreyer, Edward Chilufya (Pione Sisto, min.53) and Gustav Isaksen
Stadium:the Stadio Olympico
Goals:Gustav Isaksen (0-1, min. 8), Sergej Milinkovic-Savic (1-1, min. 36) and Pedro (2-1, min. 58)