Ferencváros 2-1 Red Star Belgrade: Mmaee finds a winner for hosts

Photo Credit: AP

Ferencváros banked all three points against the Red Star Belgrade in a 2-1 victory on Thursday, at the Groupama Arena. Ferencváros arrived at the match looking to pick up more points, following defeat to Red Star Belgrade. Red Star Belgrade, meanwhile, were able to continue their winning streak after a 4-1 win against Ferencváros in their last match. Ferencváros are now in 1st place on the table and have 9 points while Red Star Belgrade sit in 4th with 3 points after 4 matches.

Ferencváros started the first half well, thanks to a goal from Kristoffer Zachariassen on the 23 minute mark, ending the first half 1-0.

Red Star Belgrade started strong in the second half and were able to dominate, with a goal from Stefan Mitrovic in the 55th minute. Ferencváros managed to edge ahead with a goal from Samy Mmaee, 61 minutes in, seing the match finish 2-1.

Substitutions for Ferencváros included Tokmac Chol Nguen, Anderson Esiti and Franck Boli for Amer Gojak, Muhamed Besic and Ryan Mmaee, respectively. Red Star Belgrade brought on Kings Kangwa, Osman Bukari, Jovan Mijatovic and Nemanja Milunovic, to replace Sekou Sanogo, Aleksandar Katai, Kanga Guelor and Aleksandar Dragovic.

There were bookings for Mats Knoester, Endre Botka, Adama Traore and Tokmac Chol Nguen from Ferencváros. For Red Star Belgrade, Strahinja Erakovic saw yellow.

Red Star Belgrade and Ferencváros will next play at home to Trabzonspor and AS Mónaco respectively.

Technical card:
Ferencváros:Denes Dibusz, Endre Botka, Mats Knoester, Samy Mmaee, Lorand Paszka, Balint Vecsei, Muhamed Besic (Anderson Esiti, min.81), Kristoffer Zachariassen, Amer Gojak (Tokmac Chol Nguen, min.66), Adama Traore and Ryan Mmaee (Franck Boli, min.90)
Red Star Belgrade:Milan Borjan, Marko Gobeljic, Strahinja Erakovic, Aleksandar Dragovic (Nemanja Milunovic, min.82), Milan Rodic, Stefan Mitrovic, Sekou Sanogo (Kings Kangwa, min.27), Kanga Guelor (Jovan Mijatovic, min.82), Mirko Ivanic, Aleksandar Katai (Osman Bukari, min.61) and Aleksandar Pesic
Stadium:the Groupama Arena
Goals:Kristoffer Zachariassen (1-0, min. 23), Stefan Mitrovic (1-1, min. 55) and Samy Mmaee (2-1, min. 61)