Curicó 3-2 U. Católica: Visitors crumble after holding two-goal advantage

Photo Credit: AP

Curicó Unido beat U. Católica with a thumping 3-2 victory on Monday at Estadio La Granja. Both teams arrived in good form, having secured victories in their previous matches. Curicó were looking to pick up points after winning last match. U. Católica were coming from consecutive wins against Coquimbo Unido and Antofagasta. Following today’s result, Curicó are in 4th place in the table and have 29 points while U. Católica sit in 9th with 22 points after 18 matches.

U. Católica found the net first, when Luciano Aued gave U. Católica the lead at the 19 minute mark. They then scored again, increasing their advantage thanks to a goal from Jose Pedro Fuenzalida, 22 minutes in, ending the first half 2-0.

Curicó started strong in the second half and were able to dominate, when Bayron Oyarzo found the net at the 54 minute mark. Curicó looked to have the match under control when they scored again and increased their lead, thanks to a goal from Matias Cahais, at 74 minutes to establish a 2-2. Curicó then scored once more and turned the match thanks to a goal from Diego Coelho just before the final whistle to make it 3-2.

Substitutions for Curicó included Diego Coelho, Mario Sandoval and Felipe Fritz for Felipe Ortiz, Agustin Nadruz and Federico Castro, repectively. U. Católica brought on Fabian Orellana and Cesar Pinares, to replace Ignacio Saavedra and Gonzalo Tapia.

There were bookings for Rodrigo Holgado and Mario Sandoval from Curicó, and Ignacio Saavedra and Cesar Pinares, for U. Católica.

Curicó will next travel to Unión Española, while U. Católica will face Palestino at home.

Technical card:
Curicó Unido:Fabian Cerda, Juan Pablo Gomez, Matias Cahais, Franco Bechtholdt, Ronald de la Fuente, Bayron Oyarzo, Felipe Ortiz (Diego Coelho, min.54), Agustin Nadruz (Mario Sandoval, min.65), Yerko Leiva, Federico Castro (Felipe Fritz, min.73) and Rodrigo Holgado
U. Católica:Matias Dituro, Mauricio Isla, Branco Ampuero, Nehuen Paz, Alfonso Parot, Ignacio Saavedra (Fabian Orellana, min.67), Marcelino Nunez, Luciano Aued, Jose Pedro Fuenzalida, Fernando Zampedri and Gonzalo Tapia (Cesar Pinares, min.67)
Stadium:Estadio La Granja
Goals:Luciano Aued (0-1, min. 19), Jose Pedro Fuenzalida (0-2, min. 22), Bayron Oyarzo (1-2, min. 54), Matias Cahais (2-2, min. 74) and Diego Coelho (3-2, min. 85)