Watford 1-2 Swansea: The Swans continue surge with good win at Vicarage Road

Photo Credit: AP

Swansea City defeated Watford 2-1 on Wednesday at Vicarage Road. Both teams arrived on the back of wins. Watford had been hopeful of continuing their good run, following a 4-0 victory against Stoke City. Swansea were hoping to continue their winning streak after back-to-back victories against West Bromwich Albion and Hull City. Watford are now in 9th place on the table and have 17 points while Swansea sit in 6th with 18 points after 13 matches.

The Hornets started the first half well, when Ismaila Sarr gave them the lead in the 34th minute, concluding the first half 1-0.

The Swans started the second half with renewed vigour, with a goal from Olivier Ntcham in the 52nd minute. However they weren’t finished yet and Ben Cabango made it 2-1 just before the full time to give a final score of 2-1.

Substitutions for Watford included Imran Louza, James William Morris, Vakoun Issouf Bayo and Matthew Pollock for Yaser Asprilla, Mario Gaspar, Keinan Davis and Francisco Sierralta, respectively. Swansea brought on Oliver Cooper, Joel Latibeaudiere and Harry Darling, to replace Olivier Ntcham, Matthew Sorinola and Kyle Naughton.

There were bookings for Imran Louza from Watford, and Matt Grimes, Harry Darling, Jay Fulton, Nathan Wood-Gordon and Joel Latibeaudiere, for Swansea.

Watford will next play Blackpool away, with Swansea facing Sunderland AFC at home.

Technical card:
Watford:Daniel Bachmann, Ismaila Sarr, Christian Kabasele, Mario Gaspar (James William Morris, min.61), Francisco Sierralta (Matthew Pollock, min.79), Edo Kayembe, Yaser Asprilla (Imran Louza, min.56), Hassane Kamara, Ken Sema, Keinan Davis (Vakoun Issouf Bayo, min.79) and Hamza Choudhury
Swansea City:Ryan Manning, Joel Piroe, Matthew Sorinola (Joel Latibeaudiere, min.78), Jay Fulton, Nathan Wood-Gordon, Kyle Naughton (Harry Darling, min.90), Steven Benda, Olivier Ntcham (Oliver Cooper, min.71), Michael Obafemi, Matt Grimes and Ben Cabango
Stadium:Vicarage Road
Goals:Ismaila Sarr (1-0, min. 34), Olivier Ntcham (1-1, min. 52) and Ben Cabango (1-2, min. 90)