Millwall 2-0 Cardiff: Job done for The Lions at home to The Bluebirds

Photo Credit: AP

Millwall defeated Cardiff City 2-0 on Saturday at the Den. Both Millwall and Cardiff arrived at the match with previous defeats in the league. Millwall arrived at the match looking to pick up more points after losing 2-0 to Burnley in their previous fixture while Cardiff had lost their previous match against Luton Town. Millwall and Cardiff currently occupy 13th and 21st spots in the league, with 10 points and 8 points respectively after 8 matches.

After a goalless first half, Millwall piled on the pressure in the second and were rewarded, when Charlie Cresswell found the net, at 63 minutes. They then scored again, pulling level thanks to a goal from Benik Afobe just before the final whistle to give a final score of 2-0.

Substitutions for Millwall included Charlie Cresswell, Scott Malone, Benik Afobe, Tyler Burey and George Honeyman for Shaun Hutchinson, George Saville, Andreas Voglsammer, Tom Bradshaw and Zian Flemming, respectively. Cardiff replaced Sheyi Ojo, Max Watters, Jaden Philogene-Bidace and Romaine Sawyers for Mark Thomas Harris, Callum Robinson, Gavin Whyte and Joe Ralls.

There were bookings for Callum Styles and Murray Wallace from Millwall. For Cardiff, Cedric Kipre and Mahlon Romeo saw yellow.

Millwall will next play Sunderland AFC away, with Cardiff facing Hull City at home.

Technical card:
Millwall:Bartosz Bialkowski, Jamie Shackleton, Murray Wallace, Tom Bradshaw (Tyler Burey, min.62), Callum Styles, Andreas Voglsammer (Benik Afobe, min.62), George Saville (Scott Malone, min.61), Billy Mitchell, Shaun Hutchinson (Charlie Cresswell, min.48), Zian Flemming (George Honeyman, min.89) and Jake Cooper
Cardiff City:Ryan Allsop, Mahlon Romeo, Ryan Wintle, Cedric Kipre, Romaine Sawyers (Joe Ralls, min.69), Max Watters (Callum Robinson, min.46), Andy Rinomhota, Jaden Philogene-Bidace (Gavin Whyte, min.69), Sheyi Ojo (Mark Thomas Harris, min.46), Niels Nkounkou and Perry Ng
Stadium:the Den
Goals:Charlie Cresswell (1-0, min. 63) and Benik Afobe (2-0, min. 90)