Augsburg 3-3 Leipzig: Fuggerstädter take a point in six-goal stunner

Photo Credit: AP

Augsburg were helde ach other to a 3-3 draw by Leipzig on Saturday at the WWK Arena. Augsburg were looking to get back to winning ways after losing 3-2 to FC Köln in their previous fixture. Leipzig were able to continue their winning streak after a 3-2 win against Hertha in their last match. Augsburg are now in 12th place on the table and have 14 points while Leipzig sit in 9th with 16 points after 11 matches.

Fuggerstädter started the first half well, when Mergim Berisha found the net, at 34 minutes, ending the first half 1-0.

Augsburg started the second half with renewed vigour, when Ermedin Demirovic found the net, at 51 minutes. The momentum was again with Augsburg, who then scored again courtesy of a goal from Ruben Vargas on the 64 minute mark to establish a 3-0 result. However, Leipzig refused to lie down and managed to pull back a goal from Andre Silva, 72 minutes in. The Red Bulls looked to have the match under control when they scored again and increased their lead, thanks to a goal from Christopher Nkunku in the 89th minute to establish a 3-2. Leipzig then scored once more and equalised thanks to a goal from Hugo Novoa just before the full time to give a final score of 3-3.

Substitutions for Augsburg included Raphael Framberger, Daniel Caligiuri and Arne Maier for Mergim Berisha, Mads Pedersen and Florian Niederlechner, respectively. Leipzig brought on Amadou Haidara, Christopher Nkunku, Hugo Novoa and Dani Olmo, to replace Kevin Kampl, Yussuf Poulsen, Benjamin Henrichs and Emil Forsberg.

The referee booked Mergim Berisha, Ermedin Demirovic, Carlos Gruezo, Iago, Jeffrey Gouweleeuw and Elvis Rexhbecaj from Augsburg and Iago (2 yellow cards) went off with a red card, while Leipzig’s Andre Silva also received a yellow.

Augsburg will next play Stuttgart away, with Leipzig facing Bayer Leverkusen at home.

Technical card:
Augsburg:Tomas Koubek, Mads Pedersen (Daniel Caligiuri, min.79), Jeffrey Gouweleeuw, Maximilian Bauer, Iago, Ruben Vargas, Elvis Rexhbecaj, Carlos Gruezo, Ermedin Demirovic, Mergim Berisha (Raphael Framberger, min.74) and Florian Niederlechner (Arne Maier, min.87)
RB Leipzig:Janis Blaswich, Benjamin Henrichs (Hugo Novoa, min.74), Josko Gvardiol, Willi Orban, David Raum, Dominik Szoboszlai, Xaver Schlager, Kevin Kampl (Amadou Haidara, min.59), Emil Forsberg (Dani Olmo, min.80), Yussuf Poulsen (Christopher Nkunku, min.60) and Andre Silva
Stadium:the WWK Arena
Goals:Mergim Berisha (1-0, min. 34), Ermedin Demirovic (2-0, min. 51), Ruben Vargas (3-0, min. 64), Andre Silva (3-1, min. 72), Christopher Nkunku (3-2, min. 89) and Hugo Novoa (3-3, min. 90)