Goianense 2-3 Santos: Visitors steal the show at Estadio Antonio Accioly

Photo Credit: AP

Santos FC strolled past Atlético Goianense with a 3-2 win on Thursday at Estadio Antonio Accioly. Both Goianense and Santos arrived at the match with previous defeats in the league. Goianense were looking forward to playing again after losing their last match 2-1 to São Paulo. Santos had lost their previous match against Flamengo. Goianense and Santos currently occupy 18th and 12th spots in the league, with 33 points and 46 points respectively after 35 matches.

Santos found the net first, when Marcos Leonardo gave them the lead, at 19 minutes. However, their lead didn’t last for long, Diego Churín producing an equaliser in the 29th minute, bringing Goianense level. They then scored again, pulling level thanks to a goal from Luiz Fernando, 39 minutes in and saw the first half out 2-1.

Santos staged a comeback in the second half, when Lucas Braga found the net in the 52nd minute. Santos then scored once more and took the lead thanks to a goal from Lucas Henrique Barbosa just before the full time to give a final score of 3-2.

Substitutions for Goianense included Jorginho, Leo Pereira, Lucas Eduardo Lima da Silva and Kelvin Giacobe Alves dos Santos for Shaylon, Luiz Fernando, Dudu and Gabriel Baralha, respectively. Santos brought on Luiz Felipe, Sandry, Vinicius Zanocelo, Vinicius Lourenco and Lucas Henrique Barbosa, to replace Alex, Gabriel Carabajal, Carlos Sanchez, Nathan and Angelo.

There were bookings for Gabriel Baralha, Diego Churín and Jefferson from Goianense, and Carlos Sanchez and Sandry, for Santos.

Goianense will next travel to Fortaleza EC, while Santos will face Avai at home.

Technical card:
Atlético Goianense:Renan, Dudu (Lucas Eduardo Lima da Silva, min.78), Wanderson, Gazal, Jefferson, Marlon Freitas, Gabriel Baralha (Kelvin Giacobe Alves dos Santos, min.90), Wellington Rato, Diego Churín, Luiz Fernando (Leo Pereira, min.78) and Shaylon (Jorginho, min.68)
Santos FC:Joao Paulo, Nathan (Vinicius Lourenco, min.84), Eduardo Bauermann, Alex (Luiz Felipe, min.66), Felipe Jonatan, Angelo (Lucas Henrique Barbosa, min.84), Gabriel Carabajal (Sandry, min.76), Carlos Sanchez (Vinicius Zanocelo, min.76), Guilherme Camacho, Lucas Braga and Marcos Leonardo
Stadium:Estadio Antonio Accioly
Goals:Marcos Leonardo (0-1, min. 19), Diego Churín (1-1, min. 29), Luiz Fernando (2-1, min. 39), Lucas Braga (2-2, min. 52) and Lucas Henrique Barbosa (2-3, min. 90)