Paranaense 1-3 Palmeiras: Visitors secure points with strong finish

Photo Credit: AP

Paranaense were defeated at home by Palmeiras at Arena da Baixada on Wednesday. Paranaense were hoping to get something from this game after losing their last match 4-2 to Red Bull Bragantino. Palmeiras, meanwhile, were coming off the back of a 3-0 win against Avai. Paranaense are currently 6th with 51 points from 34 matches, while Palmeiras sit in 1st, with 74 points from 34.

It was an impressive opening from Paranaense, when Matheus Felipe gave them the lead, 30 minutes in, and they saw out the first half 1-0.

Palmeiras continued to pile on the pressure in the second period and were rewarded, when Gustavo Scarpa found the net, at 59 minutes. Palmeiras looked to have the match under control when they scored again to grab the advantage, thanks to a goal from Endrick Felipe Moreira de Sousa, 70 minutes in to establish a 2-1. However they weren’t finished yet and Gustavo Gomez made it 3-1 in the 76th minute to make it 3-1.

Substitutions for Paranaense included Pedro Henrique, Tomas Cuello, Erick, Vitinho and Matheus Fernandes for Nicolas Hernandez, Vitor Roque, Hugo Moura, Vitor Bueno and Bryan Garcia, respectively. Palmeiras replaced Endrick Felipe Moreira de Sousa, Gabriel Menino, Eduard Atuesta, Breno and Bruno Tabata with Danilo, Mayke, Gustavo Scarpa, Rony and Dudu.

The referee booked Romulo, Bryan Garcia, Pablo Felipe and Tomas Cuello from Paranaense and Tomas Cuello (2 yellow cards) went off with a red card, while Palmeiras’ Gustavo Gomez, Murilo Cerqueira, Gustavo Scarpa, Garcia and Joaquin Piquerez also received a yellow.

Palmeiras and Paranaense will next play at home to Fortaleza EC and Goiás EC respectively.

Technical card:
Athletico Paranaense:Anderson Silva, Luis Orejuela, Matheus Felipe, Nicolas Hernandez (Pedro Henrique, min.46), Pedrinho, Bryan Garcia (Matheus Fernandes, min.73), Leo Cittadini, Hugo Moura (Erick, min.66), Romulo, Vitor Bueno (Vitinho, min.67), Vitor Roque (Tomas Cuello, min.46) and Pablo Felipe
Palmeiras:Weverton, Marcos Rocha, Mayke (Gabriel Menino, min.46), Gustavo Gomez, Joaquin Piquerez, Murilo Cerqueira, Danilo (Endrick Felipe Moreira de Sousa, min.46), Ze Rafael, Gustavo Scarpa (Eduard Atuesta, min.78), Dudu (Bruno Tabata, min.85), Rony (Breno, min.84) and Garcia
Stadium:Arena da Baixada
Goals:Matheus Felipe (1-0, min. 30), Gustavo Scarpa (1-1, min. 59), Endrick Felipe Moreira de Sousa (1-2, min. 70) and Gustavo Gomez (1-3, min. 76)