Lanús 2-2 Vélez: Lanús made to work hard for share of the spoils

Photo Credit: AP

Lanús were held to 2-2 draw by Vélez down on Thursday at Estadio Ciudad de Lanus. Lanús were looking to get back their winning ways after losing their last match 2-1 to Godoy Cruz. Vélez had managed to pick up a single point in their matchup with River. As it stands, Lanús are in 26th place, with 6 points from 9 matches, while Vélez sit in 25th, with 7 points from 9.

Vélez started the match well, when Facundo Perrone gave Vélez the lead, 39 minutes in, to take a 1-0 lead into half time.

Lanús staged a comeback in the second half, when Lautaro Acosta found the net, at 54 minutes. However, each side looked hungry to win and Vélez then found the back of the net, at 70 minutes thanks to Leonardo Jara, taking the score to 2-1. In the end though, their lead was short lived, as Franco Ortellado equalised for Lanús at the 73 minute mark. The final result, Lanús 2, Vélez 2.

Substitutions for Lanús included Leonel Di Placido, Brian Blando, Samuel Careaga and Facundo Perez for Matias Vera, Jose Sand, Franco Orozco and Lautaro Acosta, repectively. Vélez brought on Lucas Pratto, Nicolas Garayalde, Santiago Castro, Luca Orellano and Joel Sonora, to replace Walter Bou, Facundo Perrone, Abiel Osorio, Julian Fernandez and Santiago Caseres.

The referee booked eight players. Raul Loaiza, Lautaro Acosta and David Maximiliano Gonzalez from Lanús, who saw yellow cards and Mateo Sanabria, sent off with a red, as well as for Vélez Facundo Perrone, Francisco Ortega, Abiel Osorio and Diego Valentin Gomez received yellows.

Lanús will next play Gimnasia La Plata away, with Vélez facing Defensa and Justicia at home.

Technical card:
Lanús:Fernando Monetti, Matias Vera (Leonel Di Placido, min.64), Matias Perez, Franco Ortellado, Julian Aude, Raul Loaiza, David Maximiliano Gonzalez, Lautaro Acosta (Facundo Perez, min.90), Franco Orozco (Samuel Careaga, min.72), Jose Sand (Brian Blando, min.72) and Mateo Sanabria
Vélez Sarsfield:Lucas Hoyos, Leonardo Jara, Francisco Ortega, Diego Godin, Diego Valentin Gomez, Julian Fernandez (Luca Orellano, min.75), Santiago Caseres (Joel Sonora, min.84), Facundo Perrone (Nicolas Garayalde, min.66), Lucas Janson, Walter Bou (Lucas Pratto, min.66) and Abiel Osorio (Santiago Castro, min.75)
Stadium:Estadio Ciudad de Lanus
Goals:Facundo Perrone (0-1, min. 39), Lautaro Acosta (1-1, min. 54), Leonardo Jara (1-2, min. 70) and Franco Ortellado (2-2, min. 73)