Independiente 3-0 Aldosivi: Pressure pays off for Independiente

Photo Credit: AP

Independiente beated Aldosivi 3-0 on Friday at Libertadores de America. Both Independiente and Aldosivi arrived at the match with previous defeats in the league. Independiente were looking to get back to winning ways after losing their last match 3-1 to Gimnasia La Plata. Aldosivi had lost their previous match against CA Sarmiento. Independiente are now in 22nd place, with 18 points from 18 matches, while Aldosivi sit in 26th, with 13 points from 18.

Independiente didn’t take long to get on the score-sheet, when Facundo Ferreyra opened the rout, 17 minutes in. They then scored again, pulling level thanks to a goal from Leandro Fernandez, 33 minutes in, to take a 2-0 lead into half time.

Independiente continued to pile on the pressure in the second period and were rewarded, with a goal from Damian Batallini, 72 minutes in. When the final whistle blew, the result was 3-0 to Independiente.

Substitutions for Independiente included Javier Nicolas Vallejo, Tomas Agustin Pozzo, Rodrigo Marquez and Lucas Gonzalez for Leandro Fernandez, Damian Batallini, Facundo Ferreyra and Ivan Marcone, respectively. Aldosivi brought on Tobias Cervera, Jonathan Zacaria, Santiago Silva, Emanuel Iniguez and Tomas Martinez, to replace Francisco Cerro, Braian Martinez, Juan Manuel Cuesta, Javier Iritier and Joaquin Indacoechea.

There were bookings for Ivan Marcone from Independiente. For Aldosivi, Santiago Laquidain, Nicolas Valentini and Tomas Martinez saw yellow.

Independiente will next play CA Sarmiento away, with Aldosivi facing Newell’s Old Boys at home.

Technical card:
Independiente:Milton Alvarez, Alex Vigo, Sergio Barreto, Juan Insaurralde, Edgar Elizalde, Ivan Marcone (Lucas Gonzalez, min.90), Lucas Romero, Leandro Benegas, Leandro Fernandez (Javier Nicolas Vallejo, min.84), Facundo Ferreyra (Rodrigo Marquez, min.90) and Damian Batallini (Tomas Agustin Pozzo, min.84)
Aldosivi:Jose Devecchi, Joaquin Indacoechea (Tomas Martinez, min.70), Tomas Lecanda, Nicolas Valentini, Santiago Laquidain, Javier Iritier (Emanuel Iniguez, min.70), Maciel, Francisco Cerro (Tobias Cervera, min.46), Braian Martinez (Jonathan Zacaria, min.46), Martin Cauteruccio and Juan Manuel Cuesta (Santiago Silva, min.59)
Stadium:Libertadores de America
Goals:Facundo Ferreyra (1-0, min. 17), Leandro Fernandez (2-0, min. 33) and Damian Batallini (3-0, min. 72)