Colón 2-1 Vélez: Visitors fail to hold the lead as Colón mounts successful recovery

Photo Credit: AP

Colón snatched all three points from Vélez Sarsfield in a 2-1 victory on Tuesday, at Estadio Brigadier Estanislao Lopez. Both Colón and Vélez came from defeats in their previous league games. Colón were hoping to get something from this game after losing their last match 1-0 to Godoy Cruz. Vélez were beaten 1-0 in the previous match against Atlético Tucumán. As the table looks today, Colón are in 18th place, with 8 points from 7 matches, while Vélez sit in 25th, with 5 points from 7.

The first half of the match started favourably for Vélez, when Diego Valentin Gomez found the net, 16 minutes in. However, their celebrations were kept brief, as Facundo Garces equalised for Colón at the 29 minute mark, which brought Colón level at 1-1 at the half time break

Colón started the second half with renewed vigour, thanks to a goal from Ramon Abila at the 53 minute mark, leaving the final score at 2-1.

Substitutions for Colón included Juan Pablo Alvarez, Gian Nardelli and Juan Sanchez Mino for Luis Miguel Rodriguez, Eric Meza and Cristian Bernardi, repectively. Vélez brought on Matias De los Santos, Julian Fernandez, Santiago Castro, Santiago Caseres and Joel Sonora, to replace Diego Godin, Walter Bou, Luca Orellano, Maximo Perrone and Nicolas Garayalde.

The referee booked Nicolas Garayalde for Vélez and Facundo Farias saw the red card, for Colón.

Colón will next travel to Gimnasia La Plata, while Vélez will face River at home.

Technical card:
Colón:Ignacio Chicco, Eric Meza (Gian Nardelli, min.90), Facundo Garces, Paolo Goltz, Leandro Ojeda, Santiago Pierotti, Julian Chicco, Cristian Bernardi (Juan Sanchez Mino, min.90), Facundo Farias, Ramon Abila and Luis Miguel Rodriguez (Juan Pablo Alvarez, min.83)
Vélez Sarsfield:Lucas Hoyos, Leonardo Jara, Diego Godin (Matias De los Santos, min.46), Diego Valentin Gomez, Francisco Ortega, Luca Orellano (Santiago Castro, min.72), Nicolas Garayalde (Joel Sonora, min.87), Maximo Perrone (Santiago Caseres, min.72), Lucas Janson, Lucas Pratto and Walter Bou (Julian Fernandez, min.72)
Stadium:Estadio Brigadier Estanislao Lopez
Goals:Diego Valentin Gomez (0-1, min. 16), Facundo Garces (1-1, min. 29) and Ramon Abila (2-1, min. 53)